Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was my first attempt at making fudge. I followed the recipe to the best of my ability, but had trouble deciphering the "rolling" and "soft" ball stage. I believe it would have helped if the recipe creator added approximate cooking times. I cooked this fudge for at least 25 minutes, but never hit the "rolling ball" stage. After I poured the batter into the pan, it never hardened. It was likely that it was undercooked. Directions for this recipe are vague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I don't know how some people got a creamy textured fudge out of this. I have been cooking and baking since I was 12 years old and this recipe stinks! I am now 68 years old. I did everything right of that I am sure. It is toooo sugary, too grainy and also it got hard as a rock in a matter of hours. Don't even try this one, it's a waste of all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This fudge was easy to make and it was so close to my mom's fudge I could hardly tell a difference. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I think the problem people were running into when they say this mixture never got to the "soft ball" stage is this: the soft ball stage does not mean that the mixture in the pan comes together in a ball, like dough does, but rather that a drop of the mixture, dropped into a glass of ice-cold water, will form a ball that flattens slightly when you place it on a flat surface. You can also tell the stage with a candy thermometer. This recipe is pretty sweet, but has a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
A little rich for me, but a lot of people liked it. One of my first attempts at fudge, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I feel bad for the people who tried this recipe and got bad results because it's great! It sounds like the "soft ball stage" is the tricky part. I had no clue what the soft ball stage, so I just cooked & stirred until my husband and I thought it looked good. It was really quick--about five minutes to get to the soft ball stage. Mine's a tad grainy, so maybe I didn't go long enough. But if your not sure on the soft ball thing, just go about 5 minutes and it will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This fudge tastes great, is very easy to make ... and it takes very little time to make. I will make this very often. It came out perfect the first time I tried it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
What exactly is a "soft ball" stage? I guess I figured it out well enough for a first time fudge maker. It turned out delicious and creamy, and it was so easy to make too! Perfect to satisfy that chocolate craving! My husband who is not a big chocolate fan even liked it! Thanks for sharing your recipe, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Excellent and very easy. Tastes like the fudge my father made when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I tried this recipe twice with horrible results. While cooking, I waited and waited and it never came to a softball stage. By that time it was cooked too long. A total waste of time and waste of food! It almost ruined one of my pans. For those who got it to a soft ball stage, I can see why it would be dry; it has to cook too long. I also believe you would need to add marshmallow for it to a creamier texture. Try a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States