Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I'm making it this very minute and followed almost all of everyone's advise. I used 1 cup of peanut butter because we're peanut butter freaks and I added 1-2 more Tbsps. of cocoa because I love chocolate. So far it's been boiling 11 minutes and still hasn't reached the soft-ball stage(when I drop it in cold water). Maybe it's because of the high altitude where I live. I noticed everything takes longer to cook here.... It's now at 12 minutes cooking and still no soft ball :( 13 minutes now...NADA! Well boys and girls, I've been cooking this for 15 minutes now and I'm beginning to think I've just wasted a lot of good ingredients. Now on my 16th minute and.... wait!...can it be???? OK, after 18 minutes, it's finally somewhat holding its shape! Not a soft ball but it's like fudge sauce consistency. Can it be possible that the altitude can make that much of a difference in the cooking time? So, now it's been 20 minutes and I'm afraid to overcook it so I'm going to call it good and go ahead with the rest of the instructions and add the peanut butter and stuff. After beating in the remaining ingredients, it's very smooth and creamy...and it tastes out of this world! But time will tell if it solidifies enough to cut in squares and hold it's shape. If not, well...we'll just eat it with a spoon because it's just that tasty, smooth and creamy! As long as it's not hard and grainy,I'm good with it. I can only give it 3 stars until I know if it will solidify. I'll report back later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Amaro Prince

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this for desert. I tasted the batter before I put it in the frig to cool. It was very sweet. So I modified it and it still was way too sweet for my taste. I used 1 1/2 cups peanut butter, 3/4 cup cocoa and about 1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I will make this recipe again. But next time, I will cut the sugar by almost 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I tried making it, but when I went to lower the temperature, the whole thing overflowed and destroyed the pot I was using! I was able to salvage some of the mixture that was left... Wish I knew what went wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made fudge before but have wanted to for years. My great aunt made the best fudge ever and I have searched for so long to find something that at least came close. Although I don't think I could ever duplicate her fudge, this recipe was the one to try. I just made it and it was easy and is currently setting and I would say nicely. I did sneak a taste and YUMMY! Before trying this recipe I did read all the reviews which I found extremely helpful. I followed the recipe exactly with one exception of adding a little extra peanut butter. I used a candy thermometer as well as did the soft ball test with water(which I had never heard of). I also used a tip from reading the reviews, I lined my pan with lightly buttered wax paper. Only downfall was cleaning the pot, but a price I am willing to pay to have this yummy treat. Looking forward to sharing with the family for Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing Jean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Great basic fudge recipe, reminds me of what my mom usually makes. I doubled the peanut butter and it was yummy, but a bit too sweet. The next time I make it I will put less sugar in it, then it will be worth 5 stars for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This turned out great! Mine turned out very smooth, but I did brush done the edges of the pot as it was cooking. It was a very quick process. I added an extra 1/2 cup of peanut butter based on other reviews, but I think I will try the original amount next time because you can barely taste the chocolate, even though I am a pb fan. I also added a tsp of vanilla, too. Overall, I thought it was great: easy, quick, smooth and creamy. P.S. Don't forget to sift your cocoa powder and sugar before cooking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Lousy directions. The author could have said about how many minutes this recipe takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is pretty much the same stuff that I use to make with my mother. I had no problem getting it right the first time; although I do agree with others that the over all directions here are vague. I added in a splash of Vanilla when I added in the peanut butter. I do however recommend using only enough butter for your pan. Mine was a little smaller then the one suggested and I ended up with a layer of butter under my fudge that gave the bottom a weird consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made the recipe according to the directions except I added more PB and lined my 8x8 pan with wax paper. I used a candy thermometer and it turned out excellent. My husband love Reese's PB cups and he was very impressed by this fudge. It's better than the stuff I used to buy in the candy shop. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe after several failed attempts at other peanut butter chocolate fudge recipies. This is by far the BEST recipe I have made. I made it exactly how it is written and I doubled the recipe.....between 4 kids and my husband it only lasted about 12 hours in our house LOL. The key is making sure you get it up to temp. it makes sure the sugar granules are all disolved and it's a nice smooth fudge. I highly recommend it (and do so on pinterest lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States