Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
My family begs for these cookies! I combined all of the wonderful advice of the cooks before me: use 1/2 butter and 1/2 Crisco for softness, use 1/2 dark and 1/2 light brown sugar for the best flavor, use less cocoa powder to keep more of a peanut butter flavor, and bake them for 6-8 minutes so they don't dry out. And the best advice of all was to use mini peanut butter cups, cut them in half, and freeze them before you put them in the cookie to bake. This helps to maintain part of the candy shape and when you get to that center bite--well, you will see!!! Thank you all for making me a cookie-making legend in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I used the recommendations of halfbutter/half butter Crisco; WAY underbake. I use 38 - 40 mini Reese's peanut butter cups that I freeze, cut in half and then pop back into the freezer while preparing batter. I cut them big because they look fabulous with that big gash of peanut butter. Be careful when folding in the frozen cups and I try to keep those frozen pieces as large as possible - THAT is what makes these cookies so darn attractive and yummy. I drop them out of a tablespoon - large - lumpy - I get 55 cookies to a batch. Use parchment paper - keep them on the sheet for 10 minutes or longer then off to the drying racks. (Again, they will kind of look raw, but keeping them on the pan, outside of the oven, for another 10 minutes or so continues the baking.) These are KILLER; figuratively and, let's be honest, a bit literally!!! LATE ADDITION: I NOW add the Trader Joe's teeny, tiny mini peanut butter cups to the recipe and use chocolate CHUNKS, instead of reg. chips. So, instead of the one cup chocolate chips and one cup peanut butter chips, I use a total of two cups chips, but split three ways with chocolate chunks, peanut butter and Trader Joe's chips. ALSO, to make them look like they came out of the best bakery in the universe, I gently position a couple of choclate chunks and Trader Joe's mini PB cups on top of the cookies before baking. Makes them look gorgeous. Have renamed them..."Better Than Sex"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Fe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I made these for my Dad who LOVES PBC's --they came out REALLY too sweet and rich. I think they would be better with less sugar and not so many chips. I'm an avid cookie baker so I'm really picky --check my reviews for my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These cookies are delicious, but it can be a bit tricky to figure out when they are done. Once you figure out how long they will take in your oven, they will not disappoint you! I usually bake until small cracks appear in the surface. They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUFF GIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
These cookies are so good, I am going to name my firstborn after it. Actually, I want to marry this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These cookies really are fantastic! I'm known for my culinary skills, so I'm always cautious when trying other recipes. This one helped me keep that reputation! One comment was, "They taste like the cookies you pay a few dollars (each) for in the mall!" They do have a "mild" peanut butter taste so it's great when you bite into one of the peanut butter cup pieces. I did adapt it a little by omitting the cocoa and I used MILK chocolate CHUNKS instead of semi-sweet chocolate CHIPS. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
I must say that these cookies are SOOOOOO delicious!!!!!! I couldn't even imagine that a cookie could taste this good. I'm suprised Mrs. Fields hasn't been groveling to buy this recipe. I just wanna suggest 2 things. If you take the requested amount of brown sugar and use half of both light and dark brown sugar, they are even better! also, if you freeze the penut butter cups before you cut them, they stay whole rather then melting in the oven. A little harder to cut, but worth every second!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These are very good if you like rich cookies. I made the mistake of using a health nut peanut butter (which I never really liked) which only had peanuts and oil listed as ingredients. So I suggest you use a good quality, sweet peanut butter like Jif or Skippy. And also, when you take the cookies out of the oven, you may not think that they are done, but they really are! Do not cook them for longer than it says to because they will harden up later, trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Without a doubt, these are the best peanut butter cookies I've ever produced, hands down! Like some other reviewers mentioned, you can't really taste the peanut butter cups, but the cookie is still fantastic. A suggestion if you still want to add the peanut butter cups-cut them and THEN freeze them while preparing the batter so that they retain some of their shape. These cookies were moist and delicious, even a few days later, although there weren't many left! They got rave reviews from everyone at work, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I thought these tasted very good, however there was too much chocolate compared to the peanut butter. Next time I will try it without the added cocoa. I was hoping for chunks of reese's pieces but only ended up with little dots. I guess these were just not the cookies I was expecting. Also I noticed that the cookies might not look done when you take them out but they are, so be careful not to over bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Combine chewy cookies with peanut butter cups for a real treat.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States