Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
If you are a peanut butter lover, these cookies are for you! My husband absolutely loves peanut butter, but for some reason has always hated peanut butter cookies ... until I made these! They are a hit every time and have made me a cookie legend at work. I have tried both the given recipe and some of the modifications. I now use the combo of half light/half dark brown sugar for best flavor. I find the cookies to be plenty soft so I don't see a need for substituting half crisco for the butter. I also have found there to be plenty of peanut butter flavor without adjusting the cocoa powder. They can end up with borderline too much peanut butter taste if you skimp on the cocoa powder. Freezing the peanut butter cups is a must, and I prefer to use the full size as the original recipe calls for. Using the smaller cups adds more chocolate to the mix and changes the flavor combination. As another reviewer said I also think these would be best with less chips, but haven't tried it that way yet. There are so many chips that it can make the dough difficult to hold together when trying to form the lumps of dough for the cookies. Plus, it's hard to get a real bite of the good cookie flavor when all you taste are chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These are very good cookies! I followed the advice of others and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco, I also omitted the cocoa powder. Next time I make these, I will also use only half of the chocolate and peanut chips, way too sweet for my taste. I baked these in my oven for 9-10 minutes and they were perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These cookies are the best cookies I've ever made/eaten in my life!!!! like others suggested I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening, the cookies came out very moist and a little crispy around the edges. I also froze the peanut butter cups before cutting them and adding them to the batter, once the cookies were baked the peanut butter cup pieces were still intact and looked delicious. I couldnt find any peanut butter chips, so I just used chocolate chunks/chips, I found it balanced out well with the other peanut butter flavors. I brought these to my nephews birthday party, and he ate so many he barely touched his ice cream cake. These are great and I'll be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janol8

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
There are just better, MOISTER, choco/peanut butter cookies out there. These turned out on the dry side even with subbing half shortening. I don't see that it is a baking time issue, as had I pulled mine out of the oven any sooner, they would have been raw. Plus, it's obvious at the dough stage that this is dry cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and the cookies were a little dense. We loved the flavors though! I will try this recipe again full size and see if there is a texture difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were good. I didn't add the peanut butter cups into the batter. I put the cookies on the cookie sheet, then put the chunks of pb cups on top of the cookies. That way they don't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These are absolutely fantastic! I only made the following small notes: half butter and half shortening to give more shape, left out the cocoa powder since I didn't have any and I didn't want the cookies to turn brown, baked 9 minutes then let sit on cookie sheet for 10 minutes outside the oven. I thought this recipe looked delicious and it definitely did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Decently good cookies. Having both peanut butter and chocolate chips as well as Reese's Peanut Butter Cups seemed a little unnecessary. Also, not sure how the cookies in the picture aren't chocolate colored since the recipe uses cocoa . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These are a very delicious- I highly recommend using stoneware pans if they're 'seasoned' to get the right amount of doneness. I opted to use Reeses Pieces for a little more fall color, but they were definitely a hit with my Peanut Butter cookie connoisseurs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hockeystyx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
These cookies alwaysgo fast when I make them. I do not add the cocoa poweder and I took the suggestion of freezing mini pb cups instead of cutting whole ones. They keep their shape so you bite into chunks of pb cup. Rich but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Combine chewy cookies with peanut butter cups for a real treat.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States