Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Not sure what I did wrong, I followed the recipe exactly. I chilled & cut before the chocolate hardened & then chilled again. They completely fell apart when I tried to get them out of the pan, & tasted really dry. And the chocolate still separated from the peanut butter. Disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
RIDICULOUS! That's how good these are! I was glad to read they could be frozen, but truthfully we will eat them all before I get them in the freezer. I did cut butter to 3/4 cup as others recommended to save a little on fat and calories. I softened the butter in the microwave and then added the pb to the bowl to finish melting the butter and soften the pb. Made it very easy to mix. I will probably add an extra cup of chocolate chips on top as anotehr reviewer did, but just because I like a little more chocolate. These are great the way they are written. I will try not to make these too often as we eat way too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Made as specified except only used 1/2 cup butter instead of 1 cup to cut down on fat/calories. Still turned out good. Husband and kids both devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I have been making these for years, every Christmas. My daughter was in the Brownies and they made them, I got the recipe and every year since we have them, it's tradition now, and my daughter is now 36 years old. They are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is IT! This is the one! Growing up and attending a small public school, we had these bars once a month and the recipe went to the grave with the chef. I have tried to replicate over the years and now I found the secret is the GRAHAM CRACKER crumbs!Thank you Justine, the search is finally over :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
One of my favorites for years. To get nice, clean edges to your bars, run a thin knife under hot water for each cut. My recipe calls for margarine instead of butter, 1 & 3/4 cups of graham cracker crumbs and 2 & 1/2 cups powdered sugar. I cut them in 1" squares because they're like candy (that way you can have more than just one!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe was ok, though I would not make it again. If you are going to make this, I recomend not using semisweet chocalate chips because they do not pair well with the peanutbutter and is to strong of a taste. Also, use less grahm crackers and more peauntubutter for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I needed to bring a desert to a BBQ and did not want to turn on the oven. This was great. My 8 & 10 year olds did it almost "all be themselves". We used natural no sugar added PB and it was still incredibly sweet. We will definitely makes this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
All my kids LOVED it! A family friend begged for the recipe and more of them. They made a great b-day gift for him. This is a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
OMG! These are so simple and so good. I did use reduced fat peanut butter. I reduced the recipe by half, using an 8 x 8 pan. I'm glad I did because I would have eaten way too many! We will make these often, and I can already see several full batches for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States