Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I should have made it as stated. Instead I followed some reviews that I wish I hadn't. I decreased the butter to less than 3/4 cup and I increased the chocolate chips to 3 cups. The base ended up a little dry and crumbly and the chocolate layer was too too too chocolatey. That's alot coming from me - a confirmed chocoholic. The chocolate layer was just too overpowering. I will make these again & include between 3/4 and 1 cup butter & stick with 2 cups of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Tastes like peanut butter cups! The only change I made was to add a little peanut butter (maybe 2 tbsp) to the chocolate chips while they were melting. Very rich. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
These are very good. I added 1/2 cup of peanut butter to the melted chocolate like the one poster suggested. I did add more peanut butter to the filling than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Ok, so I completely forgot the sugar in the recipe. I cut the amount of butter to half. Added a tbsp of butter and peanut butter to the chocolate while it melted. I can imagine that the recipe must be too sweet, because I thought it was great without the sugar! I'll be making this again (because I am a sucker for peanut butter and chocolate) but I'll be definitely cutting down on the sugar. My guess is that 1 to 1 3/4 cups is way more than enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I am so impressed with this recipe. So easy. I had to make 2 batches and the first one was a trial for sure. Very messy preparing but the 2nd one went much smoother. I did not use parchment paper and I would definitely say that parchment paper is a must for a couple reasons. #1 The first bunch crumbled horribly because I cut into them and tried to serve them within the first hour, but if you use Parchment paper I do not think this would be a problem. Reason # 2 is I let the 2nd batch sit overnight in the fridge and they set really nicely but were tough to get out, so parchment would help. Whether you use parchment or not you MUST at least cut into them once the chocolate sets (15-20 mins in fridge). Also, definitely mix the chocolate with a little peanut butter. Made it very smooth and chocolate did not crack. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These are amazing!!!! Apart from the HUGE amount of butter, I'd eat them all day! Definitely one of my favorite recipes on Allrecipes. I had cut the recipe in half, added a little vanilla, and added sprinkles on top. (I used chunky pb.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Mmm! These are better than peanut butter cups! So yummy and gewy! Insted of using chocolate chips though, I tend to make my own chocolate using the recipe on the Hershy's Cocoa Powder box. Add a little milk and these are just like the store-bought kind! Only cheaper! I also added dabs of water into the graham cracker/peanut butter mixture so that it would stick together more. Worked perfectly and good even out of the fridge for more than a couple of minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe was easy, quick and delicious! My huband loves marshmellow, so I melted some marshmellow fluff in the microwave to make it easier to spread and spread a layer on top of the peanut butter mixture before adding the chocolate. Turned out awesome! I melted the chocolate in the microwave and it seized up but just added some hot water and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Great recipe, holiday keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Rowe
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States