Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Just made them..and they are great! I did soften the peanut butter in the microwave and that helped with the stirring and used milk chocolate instead of semi sweet chips..semi sweet would have been too rich. I cut mine into small squares and wish I had left them into "bars" the presentation on my dessert tray would have looked better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! Very rich so I cut them into small bites. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious and very similar to Reese's. I followed the hints of using butter with the melted chocolate, lining the pan with tin foil, and scoring the bars before they were fully chilled to make it easier to cut. All suggestions seemed to pay off! Also, many people seemed to say they found them very rich. I used all natural peanut butter, made from just peanuts and it was just the right amount of sweetness. I also used milk chocolate for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Over 40 years ago, this was the treat of choice for junior high pot lucks. Easy to make! Great for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delish. I didnt put as much of the icing sugar in though...and I used chunky peanut butter cause I like the texture of it. But it was definetly family approved and Ive got more in the freezer (first batch didnt last long in this house!) right now which will be put in tins for christmas baked goods for family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Better than a Peanut Butter cup! After reading the reviews, I decided to add 1 cup of cracker crumbs to the peanut butter base to cut the sweetness. I used Breton crackers, but I am sure saltines would work out well too. It added some texture and without them, this dessert would probably be too sweet. Oh, I also just used the powdered sugar (omitted the brown sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
i use 2-3 tablespoons butter when melting chocolate,1/2 milk and 1/2 regular chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I used a ready made graham ready crust for the bottom of this dessert. Very easy, cheap, and yummy! Great to take to a covered dish affair or to make with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I don't usually say this, but these deserve more than 5 stars. Made per the recipe, except that I just used an 18 oz jar of extra crunchy peanut butter--the whole thing. (it was all I had on hand) So, I don't know if it was too much or too little, because they turned out great. The only other change I made was putting a few tablespoons of butter in the chocolate chips to keep them soft. Next time I think I'll try milk chocolate chips. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made these for work and they couldnt get enough. They disappear VERY quickly! Great, easy recipe. I did take another users advice and added a bit of butter to the melted choc chips for easier spreading, and also put the bars in the fridge before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States