Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Better than a Peanut Butter cup! After reading the reviews, I decided to add 1 cup of cracker crumbs to the peanut butter base to cut the sweetness. I used Breton crackers, but I am sure saltines would work out well too. It added some texture and without them, this dessert would probably be too sweet. Oh, I also just used the powdered sugar (omitted the brown sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
i use 2-3 tablespoons butter when melting chocolate,1/2 milk and 1/2 regular chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I used a ready made graham ready crust for the bottom of this dessert. Very easy, cheap, and yummy! Great to take to a covered dish affair or to make with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I don't usually say this, but these deserve more than 5 stars. Made per the recipe, except that I just used an 18 oz jar of extra crunchy peanut butter--the whole thing. (it was all I had on hand) So, I don't know if it was too much or too little, because they turned out great. The only other change I made was putting a few tablespoons of butter in the chocolate chips to keep them soft. Next time I think I'll try milk chocolate chips. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made these for work and they couldnt get enough. They disappear VERY quickly! Great, easy recipe. I did take another users advice and added a bit of butter to the melted choc chips for easier spreading, and also put the bars in the fridge before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fabulous! I didn't have to change a thing in this recipe!! My son and husband loved these. I will defiantly make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These are just like the ones I had in elementary school. If you like Reese Cups, you will LOVE this. So easy and good. Didn't change the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
After we put them in the refrigerator for a while,they were a little easier to cut.Delicious,the more you let it cool the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Fabulous dessert! I followed the recipe as exact as I could, though I used only about 2 1/4 cups confectioners' sugar since that is all that I had. I used creamy peanut butter with 1 cup of each semi & milk chocolate chips (just because I prefer more of a milk chocolate flavor). I did use a jelly roll pan and am glad that I did...anything thicker would have been too much and way to sweet. Once pouring the peanut butter mixture in the pan, I put it in the freezer for about 10 minutes, I then added the chocolate on top. Once that started to harden (about 8-10 min), I scored it. I had perfect bars with no cracks or crumbles. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Oh dear, I don't think I'll make these too often as they are very moreish, difficult to stop nibbling at! I used a good quality milk chocolate for the top as I don't like dark chocolate. I also used a litle less than the recipe says as I didn't want too thick a layer on top. I scored the bars while the chocolate was setting, but before it had hardened, so that the chocolate didn't crack when cutting out the bars. I also used crunchy peanut butter for added crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States