Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Awesome! I must admit, when I was mixing the "batter" I didn't think they would turn out. It seemed very runny without the usual graham cracker crumbs. I refrigerated the PB layer for 30 minutes, and it hardened nicely. I used 50/50 semisweet & milk chocolate chips with a dollop of PB for the topping. That's what I use for Special K bars & love it. I took the advice of others & lined my pan with wax paper to make removing bars easier (worked great!) and scored the chocolate while semi-soft and cut before it hardened completely. I had no problems with cracking. Flavor is excellent! Creamy & delicious! I will store these in the fridge as they get "melty" quickly at room temp. Perfect for my friend with Celiac disease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Oh. My. Gosh. I used my favorite ultra-smooth peanut butter, and dark chocolate and I can't stop nibbling on these! They are so good! I also skipped the vanilla, and I will omit the granulated sugar next time, too. Totally yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
5 stars times 10! Awesome recipe and so very easy. I actually doubled the recipe and made in a LARGE (much larger than 9x13) pan. I added a tbsp of butter to the chocolate as it melted to help keep it soft and easier to cut after cooled. I also highly suggest using a standing mixer if you have one instead of mixing by hand! Takes a lot of arm muscles and still may not get the lumps of sugar smoothed out. I placed parchment paper on bottom of pan and spread the peanuttbutter over, then cooled it and did the chocolate top the mext day. Then let that cool as well. I followed another reviewers suggestion and scored the chocolate as it was cooling to allow for easier cutting with out cracking. This seemed to help. Also, not cutting when the chocolate is cold will help to keep them from cracking. Room Temp is fine. Great recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
So easy and delicious! Very much like Reese's cups. I followed the recipe exactly and pressed into a pan lined with parchment paper. After the bars had cooled a bit, I refrigerated them overnight. They pulled out of the pan easily with the parchment paper, making cutting easier. (Warning: they did not cut into perfect little rectangles - this didn't change the taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I make these for every event, and people always love them! The only change I make is doubling the chocolate. If I have time, I put them into individual mini cupcake liners - cute and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Sinfully delicious, and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
So very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
These are amazing and taste EXACTLY like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, but i only had a little less than half the peanutbutter the recipe called for and only had milk chocolate chips so i estimated half of all the ingredients so maybe it was luck that they turned out so darn good but i dont care they are impossible to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Soooooooo yummy! The peanut butter portion is one of the best I have tasted yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisalubell
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
YUM! This is crazy easy and super delicious. I've taken it to two pot lucks and both times they disappeared. I'll be making it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalubell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States