Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
When I was in elementary school (30+ years ago!) these were a favorite treat served with our school lunches. They were called Hollywood Squares. Somehow my mom snagged a copy of the cafeteria's recipe which is identical to this one EXCEPT it also calls for a 1/2 cup of sweet crumbs. For years, I left this out because I wasn't exactly sure what that meant. I later discovered that it meant finely crushed cookie or graham crackers. I use graham cracker crumbs (make sure they are really fine!) and it makes this recipe. It gives the peanut butter layer some substance (without making them dry or crumbly) which makes for much easier cutting. For those of you who have trouble with the chocolate layer cracking -- let the bars chill until firm, then remove from the frig and let warm up a tad before cutting. No cracks and smooth cutting. I also add a couple tablespoons of margarine to the chocolate chips before melting. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
A*W*E*S*O*M*E thats all I can say. I didn't have the chocolate to do the topping, i just sprinkled chocolate shavings on top while it was still warm, oh so good. I can't wait to try it with the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Cvek Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
For easy cutting, line the pan with wax paper or foil. Leave about 1 inch over hang on the ends. Place ingredients inside, allow to set as directed. Remove from pan by edges of foil/paper and use a pizza cutter to cut into nice, smooth squares. We use this method with all desserts/bars that need to be cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina G
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These are rich and wonderful. Very much like a peanut butter cup. My kids are gluten free and casein free so the desserts we can make are limited. This is nice because it uses mainstream ingredients (I use Trader Joe's semi-sweet chocolate chips) and comes together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
VERY easy, VERY tasty - and due to numerous tips on how to cut them, I added just a little bit of shortening to the melted chocolate ... perfect! Thanks so much for this easy peasy recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I have made these bars a few times and they are always a hit. Simple to make and they taste great. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I doubled the recipe, the mixing was difficult, yet they came out excellent! The family enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marchesani Wilkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Yummy! I softened the peanut butter in the microwave for easier mixing. Also great with white chocolate chips or milk chocolate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bull Shoals, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
My favorite (high calorie!!!) dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
The chocolate had to be put in the refridgerator to set up. The filling was gritty with little peanut butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States