Chocolate Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Oh my, this is the best!!! Absolutely beautiful to place on any table. Easy to make and soooo impressive to serve. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Don't be intimidated by this recipe, its easy and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This turned out to be a very delicious desert; however, when baking, it did not stay in an 8" circle. After the l l/2 hours it had spread to over a foot and down over the edge of the cookie sheet. I had to serve it by cutting it in pieces (which was very messy--the top kept cracking) and then putting the whip cream and strawberries on. I'd like to know how to keep it from spreading so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I have made pavlovas for years and was keen to try this but it was a disaster, I knew it was going to spread because after adding the chocolate it lost it's stiff texture and became too soft and it spread like a big pancake, can anyone let me know why this might have happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolphillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was easy, looked elegant and tasted great! Be careful to not overbeat the eggs and mold the sides high as it does spread. I let mine cool in the open oven for an hour then transferred to cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
The flavor was great, but like others, mine spread out a lot. This was my first attempt at a pavlova. I thought it might help with the spreading issue so I let the chocolate cool a little before incorporating into the egg whites. I spread the mixture into an 8" circle and piled the sides high, but it still ended up about 16" across and maybe 1" tall. Despite my best efforts to make the move smooth and keep the weight evenly distributed, the transfer from the baking sheet to the cooling rack was a disaster. It fell apart into huge chunks. I ended up making pavlova parfaits since I was serving to guests. I would avoid trying this recipe for the first time if you're counting on beautiful presentation. Maybe this recipe would work better if you made individual sized pavlovas. They would bake faster and probably not spread out as much. I did notice that this recipe is pretty much the same as the one from the joyofbaking website, though they call for superfine sugar instead of table sugar and used chopped chocolate instead of melting it. I bet that would fix the spreading problem. As another reviewer said, the egg whites lose their stiffness once the chocolate is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Oh wow. This was a complete disaster. Not saying this isn't a great recipe, just that it was pretty hard for me, who has little experience with beating eggs, to get right. I beat the eggs for at least half an hour and they never got stiff. Finally I just gave up, thinking that they were probably stiff enough. Everything spread all over the pan (as I expected having read other reviews), the top came out super crispy and cracked and the middle wasn't cooked. Hopefully some better cooks than I can give some helpful advice in their reviews that might make this a less daunting dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was fantastic. Everyone loved it and it has this very rich, distinguished, yet delicate flavor. I made it for a dinner party and it was very impressive. Do not over bake. (This was my one mistake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Im a really professional chef and i bow down to this recipe!! it is absolutely devine!! it tastes sooo good, like a summers morning. I recommend this recipe to every one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Made this to bring to my son's girlfriends parents house. It was really beautiful and not hard to make at all. Everyone loved it and declared it a 5 star winner! Now if only we could travel to taste it in Australia or New Zealand! It would also make adorable individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saraland, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States