Chocolate Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I initially followed this recipe exactly as it is written. The batter was very thin and runny, and the pancakes cooked up to be thin, dense, almost custardy (and not in a good way). The taste was slightly bitter, with very little chocolate taste and the texture was unappealing. The second time, I doctored the recipe up a bit. I added extra flour, sugar, and put in about a TBSP of baking powder. The next couple rounds came out looking and tasting a lot better, but still not awesome. I'll be trying chocolate pancakes again, but definitely not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
These were tasty pancakes. It had a nice chocolate flavor without being overly sweet. I added 1 tsp of baking powder hoping for a fluffy pancake but they were, excuse the expression, "as flat as a pancake". They were not fluffy at all. I didn't find the batter to be particularly runny so I was expecting the pancake to rise but it didn't. Instead of mixing the chocolate chips in the batter, I sprinkled them on top after I poured it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Amazing. I added bacon to the batter. My partner and I were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I only used 1 cup of flour and I didn't find them runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I made these for breakfast today and I was in heaven. They turned out better than I expected. Since I didn't have vanilla, I used the brown sugar rendering from the sautéed ripe plantains I made as a side to go with them. I also put some plantain in the batter, so I reduced the amount of chocolate chips but it was a nice combo because the pancakes were slightly sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This pancake was good but more like a crepe. I rolled strawberry pie filling in them and topped with powder sugar. Kids loved them, more like dessert though. I think 1/4 tsp baking soda will fluff them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I added baking powder as some people recommended, and replaced over half the flour with whole wheat flour. Someone had commented that the cocoa powder didn't seem to add much chocolate flavor, so I left out the cocoa powder and sugar. For the last pancake, I put chocolate syrup in the batter and it tasted great, so that could definitely be an alternative to the cocoa powder and chocolate chips, especially if not everyone wants chocolate in their pancakes. We put whipped cream and cherries on the pancakes and REALLY enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't know why previous commenters are saying that this batter is thin and runny. Other than adding a tbsp of baking powder (as I prefer fluffy pancakes) and an extra tbsp of sugar since I didn't have chocolate chips on hand, I followed the recipe to the letter and the batter was the perfect thickness for scooping and pouring. I lowered the heat on my frying pan to medium low and these pancakes cooked up fluffy and perfect very quickly (2-3 minutes on the first side; 1 minute after flipping). My kids loved them, comparing them to having chocolate cake for breakfast. I gave them 4 stars only because I had to add the baking powder. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Dense, thin and took forever to cook. Also, they did not taste chocolately at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Not good. They were VERY thin and dense. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States