Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These truffles were really good! I used primarily fresh squeezed orange juice for the orange flavor and then added a little spiced rum. Great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teeny118
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Fantastic little Christmas presents! Easy enough for beginners- just don't expect them to look too pretty. I stuck mine in mini muffin papers to compensate! After making 3-4 dozens- my findings: 1. The serving size is way off! I could only get 12 out of the original 2. The "cores" need A. Extra 2 oz of chocolate- helps compensate for the loss of "transferring" bowl to wax paper B. 3 tablespoons of liquor- helps the flavor come through the chocolate C. 1 teaspoon of sugar to take the bitterness out of the chocolate and accentuate the flavor of the liquor. 3. Don't keep transferring- let the pot you boil the cream, chocolate+ butter go straight into the fridge after it cools down 4. Use your hands to shape like you would a cookie dough ball (yes it will get messy but will shape well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Donora, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
LOVED IT! I used triple sec and skipped over the orange zest in the second batch (for a smoother texture)..... Also: rinse your hands in ice cold water when shaping them, and set on a fresh waxed paper tray (it absorbs any extra water from your hands..... I rolled them in Hershey's Special Dark baking cocoa powder and they were a huge hit! melt in your mouth smoother and creamier than lindt lindor truffles! I also used Callebaut MILK Chocolate (sold by the pound at whole foods) Put them in a candy box and mini paper cups (from a craft store) and nobody wil believ you made them yourself! Good Luck and ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just love chocolate and orange together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Berwick, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made these today and the flavor is incredible! I made half a batch and got nine narely 1/2-inch size truffles. I must have hot hands because they were melting like crazy. I used Grand Marnier. I rolled them in cocoa powder instead of coating with chocolate. I'm not sure a full batch would get 24 truffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Flavor was amazing but needed to stay refridgerated as they tended to get soft when out of fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I tried making these for Valentines day, and it was a huge hit! The only difference I made from this recipe was that I used Orange Juice instead of the liqueur. I even ran out of these (after making a double batch) midway through the day! If you make these, plan for an attack of the chocolate lovers! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Make sure you give yourself plenty of time! These were good but not as good as store bought and the ingredients cost more to buy than the store bought kind. Next time for the mess and the time it takes to make these, I think I'll go buy a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Well it isn't often I find a recipe I would never make again...but this one falls into that category. I found this quite tasteless. Yes the butter and the chocolate separated but stir as it cools and it will come together. I had to add orange extract to this to get flavor the liqueur didn't do it. It seemed something stopped this from firming ...perhaps the liqueur??? I didn't want to waste the ingredients so I added a pack of cream cheese and spooned the mixture in the center of muffin batter and they were fabulous. Sorry can't even give 1 star on taste alone, except this system forces you to give one. There are so many really delicious truffle recipes available, after all FLAVOR is vital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very tasty truffles! A problem I had was gettimg the right consistency after chilling. They were a bit too runny when I tried to ball them, but after sittimng out covered on my counter for ~12 hours, they must have dried out a little and then were at the correct doughy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States