Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
YUMMY!!! It was very easy to make them though i had problems with chillin cos either they were too soft or too cool and firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
These were awesome, and a big hit with everyone who tried them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
WHAT A MESS!!! In my opinion there is way too much liquid in this recipe. I planned to make these for my husband for Valentine's Day. I followed the recommendations submitted by other reviewers and chilled well/froze etc. I understand that weather conditions etc. can play a big part in the success or failure of a recipe but I could tell from the very beginning that this was not going to work because there was too much liquid. I had planned on a "love basket" and these were going to be the center piece... in a lovely container. I actually made 2 batches, neither of which came out. (You definately want to double this recipe unless you want VERY tiny little truffles). I was desperate..... at this point my husband would be home in 1 hour and I was NOT going to the mall to pay way too much for the name brand chocolate. I managed to find some more chocolate and started over. I doubled the recipe. I cut the butter and the cream in half. I kept the liquor the same. I followed the directions as usual up to this point where you "try to shape them into balls." After all the ingredients were mixed I got out my large tub of powdered sugar and just started adding it. I added and added and added until I came up with something that I could work with. I shaped them into balls and then froze them for approx. 10 minutes. I then dipped then in the chocolate. The recipe needs a lot of work but the taste if WONDERFUL. My husband is somewhat particular and said immediately th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
These have great flavor, but a little hard for me to make. The truffle mixture never really hardened, so it was a little difficult for me to make the balls. They didn't look great, but we really enjoyed the flavor. My kitchen was probably too warm, but I will try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe was really great. I also made some with Chambord (black raspberry liqueur) and they were wonderful. The only problem I had was shaping them into round balls. some of them looked a little strange, but still tasted wonderful. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A HUGE hit for Christmas! Definitely chill well between steps and I put the balls in the freezer for 30 minutes before dipping in the chocolate, which gave them a very professional look as the chocolate coating firmed up immediately. This one is perfect for a busy cook as the steps can take place over the course of a couple of days. Double the recipe because everyone will want them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I made these for my chocoholic friend. I had never made truffles before. I had one taste and almost fell to the floor! My friend said these were better than any chocolates she's ever had--that's including Godiva!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
THERE WAS NO WAY I COULD GET 36 SMALL BALLS FROM 4 OZ OF CHOCOLATE. JUST MADE 14 LARGE TRUFFLES AND THEY WERE GREAT. GOOD RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Very delicious and easy! I made these to give as homemade Valentine's Day candy. I would make the following recommendations to the recipe: double the recipe, I ended up with 28 very small chocolates. I would double the recipe and make larger balls. I had trouble getting my filling to get firm enough. Even after 2+ hours of chilling it wasn't firm enough to roll. So I scooped out the size balls I wanted onto a lined cookie sheet, then placed them in the FREEZER for 30 minutes, then I rolled them into balls, and "froze" for another 15 minutes longer before rolling them in the cooled chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Loved this recipe, is really very tasty. I had problem with butter separation also, but not alot and I just scraped it off. I rolled mine in crushed pecans after the chocolate layer. I would reccomend letting the truffle sit in nuts awhile after rolling, alot of mine ended up with finger indents in because I tried to move them out of the nuts so quickly. I used a little ice cream scoop to make the filling balls, but should have shaped them after as some are little funny looking and not overly round. Tasty! and easy for a first time truffle maker. Will try again with Baileys, Frangelico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States