Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe is delicious. I made them for my mom because her favorite thing is orange and chocolate. Be patient with this recipe. Here are some things I did to alter it that work wonderfully: 1. Get the most use out of the orange you bought by zesting 1 teaspoon like the recipe calls for, and additionally peeling a little more than a dozen flakes with the peeler to use as decoration at the end. Instead of using liqueur, I used juice from the orange, reserving what's left for the decoration at the end as well. 2. Add at least an extra tablespoon of orange juice to the filling, maybe even 1 1/2 like I did. It makes them more orangey. 3. I added a little under 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to the filling. It helps with the bitter flavor and makes it sweet. 4. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil for the chocolate coating, this works well. 5. After I dipped all the filling in chocolate, I re-heated the remaining chocolate and added 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and 2-3 tblspns of orange juice (I should have used the leftover juice, but I accidentally threw it out.) I dipped my fork in to the mixture once it was mixed smooth, and drizzled it over the top of the truffles. In the drizzle, on top of each one, I placed an orange zest flake set aside form the beginning. They turned out magnificently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
While I loved this recipe, they were very messy when left out. I had to keep them refrigerated at all times or they would be too messy to eat. I had them at my Christmas party and had to keep putting them in the fridge then back out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe was very disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, and was not happy at all with the flavor of the filling; I didn't even bother going further by chilling. Like other reviewers stated, the measurements of the ingredients are way off (i,e, how can 4 oz. of chocolate plus the other ingredients yield 24 truffles?) On the contrary, I had a pot of chili simmering and added 2 tbl. of the chocolate filling to it, and it gave it an element of depth to the flavor. All was not lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Took what seemed like forever for this to set and had a very runny consistancy even when set. I used small scoop, tried using my hands, they just melted almost immeditately and I couldn't dip or roll them. The upside was we melted the mixture back down and added a few cups of powdered sugar and poured into a 13x9 for FABULOUS FUDGE, was really good as a fudge. Gave as gifts for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
With amendment this recipe is quite good, but the quantities in this recipe are way off. I read all the reviews and proceeded with caution and with extra chocolate on hand. I ended up adding double the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for. By the time I was done adding little bits of chocolate after each time I let the mix cool, I was fed up, so I just rolled the truffles in cocoa, as is more traditional anyway. The end result is a really nice truffle, but beware of the quantities given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
For my first time making truffles this was a great recipe and very easy. I used the orange liquer and didn't have a problem putting in the freezer to firm up-which is necessary-also doesn't make the chocolate shell crack. "Flicked" melted white almond bark on top for decoration and to show the kids that Mommy can play with her food too! The filling flavor is great-didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
what do you use to drizzle the white stuff over them like in the picture? is it a certain type of icing? right now i have my mixture chilling in the fridge & i took the advice to double the recipe. that seemed really smart. thanks to all who suggested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Yum! These are delish. I'm not sure what the problem some reviewers are having but after chilling in the fridge I had no problems scooping with a small cookie dough scoop, rolling smooth, and then freezing. I didn't have the liqueur so I used some fresh squeezed OJ along with the fresh zest. They are a bit messy but soo good. My only problem is the batch was really small =(( next time I will be sure and double so we have plenty of these little delights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
AMAZING! If you're a chocoholic like I am, you will not be disapointed. Sadly I only managed to eat 2 from my first batch because my family snarfled them all up! I made 3 batches in one week: one for a party, one for dessert with my parents, and one just for me! every time they are made, it's a big hit. thank you very much for this delicious truffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I didn't know what to expect, but I am very impressed. Anytime you work with chocolate, it can be messy, but I don't mind! I actually had a brand new bottle of orange extract and I decided to use that in place of liqueur and it worked perfectly. I dipped mine into tempered milk chocolate so I could take these to a dinner party. I love using tempered milk chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States