Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe was very disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, and was not happy at all with the flavor of the filling; I didn't even bother going further by chilling. Like other reviewers stated, the measurements of the ingredients are way off (i,e, how can 4 oz. of chocolate plus the other ingredients yield 24 truffles?) On the contrary, I had a pot of chili simmering and added 2 tbl. of the chocolate filling to it, and it gave it an element of depth to the flavor. All was not lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Took what seemed like forever for this to set and had a very runny consistancy even when set. I used small scoop, tried using my hands, they just melted almost immeditately and I couldn't dip or roll them. The upside was we melted the mixture back down and added a few cups of powdered sugar and poured into a 13x9 for FABULOUS FUDGE, was really good as a fudge. Gave as gifts for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
With amendment this recipe is quite good, but the quantities in this recipe are way off. I read all the reviews and proceeded with caution and with extra chocolate on hand. I ended up adding double the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for. By the time I was done adding little bits of chocolate after each time I let the mix cool, I was fed up, so I just rolled the truffles in cocoa, as is more traditional anyway. The end result is a really nice truffle, but beware of the quantities given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
For my first time making truffles this was a great recipe and very easy. I used the orange liquer and didn't have a problem putting in the freezer to firm up-which is necessary-also doesn't make the chocolate shell crack. "Flicked" melted white almond bark on top for decoration and to show the kids that Mommy can play with her food too! The filling flavor is great-didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
what do you use to drizzle the white stuff over them like in the picture? is it a certain type of icing? right now i have my mixture chilling in the fridge & i took the advice to double the recipe. that seemed really smart. thanks to all who suggested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Yum! These are delish. I'm not sure what the problem some reviewers are having but after chilling in the fridge I had no problems scooping with a small cookie dough scoop, rolling smooth, and then freezing. I didn't have the liqueur so I used some fresh squeezed OJ along with the fresh zest. They are a bit messy but soo good. My only problem is the batch was really small =(( next time I will be sure and double so we have plenty of these little delights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
AMAZING! If you're a chocoholic like I am, you will not be disapointed. Sadly I only managed to eat 2 from my first batch because my family snarfled them all up! I made 3 batches in one week: one for a party, one for dessert with my parents, and one just for me! every time they are made, it's a big hit. thank you very much for this delicious truffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I didn't know what to expect, but I am very impressed. Anytime you work with chocolate, it can be messy, but I don't mind! I actually had a brand new bottle of orange extract and I decided to use that in place of liqueur and it worked perfectly. I dipped mine into tempered milk chocolate so I could take these to a dinner party. I love using tempered milk chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by sjsholar
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These were AMAZING! So good. I made them for my boyfriend & his favorite flavors are orange and key lime so I made half of each. I took a reviewer's suggestion of making the filling mixture the night before and keeping in the fridge overnight. It was REALLY stiff by then, but I was still able to get it into balls. I would definitely double or triple the recipe if making for more than one person because mine only came out to 24 VERY small truffles. Taste is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsholar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Tasted great! Freeze the centre so you can roll the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States