Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
LOVED IT! I used triple sec and skipped over the orange zest in the second batch (for a smoother texture)..... Also: rinse your hands in ice cold water when shaping them, and set on a fresh waxed paper tray (it absorbs any extra water from your hands..... I rolled them in Hershey's Special Dark baking cocoa powder and they were a huge hit! melt in your mouth smoother and creamier than lindt lindor truffles! I also used Callebaut MILK Chocolate (sold by the pound at whole foods) Put them in a candy box and mini paper cups (from a craft store) and nobody wil believ you made them yourself! Good Luck and ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just love chocolate and orange together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Berwick, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made these today and the flavor is incredible! I made half a batch and got nine narely 1/2-inch size truffles. I must have hot hands because they were melting like crazy. I used Grand Marnier. I rolled them in cocoa powder instead of coating with chocolate. I'm not sure a full batch would get 24 truffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Flavor was amazing but needed to stay refridgerated as they tended to get soft when out of fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I tried making these for Valentines day, and it was a huge hit! The only difference I made from this recipe was that I used Orange Juice instead of the liqueur. I even ran out of these (after making a double batch) midway through the day! If you make these, plan for an attack of the chocolate lovers! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Make sure you give yourself plenty of time! These were good but not as good as store bought and the ingredients cost more to buy than the store bought kind. Next time for the mess and the time it takes to make these, I think I'll go buy a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Well it isn't often I find a recipe I would never make again...but this one falls into that category. I found this quite tasteless. Yes the butter and the chocolate separated but stir as it cools and it will come together. I had to add orange extract to this to get flavor the liqueur didn't do it. It seemed something stopped this from firming ...perhaps the liqueur??? I didn't want to waste the ingredients so I added a pack of cream cheese and spooned the mixture in the center of muffin batter and they were fabulous. Sorry can't even give 1 star on taste alone, except this system forces you to give one. There are so many really delicious truffle recipes available, after all FLAVOR is vital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very tasty truffles! A problem I had was gettimg the right consistency after chilling. They were a bit too runny when I tried to ball them, but after sittimng out covered on my counter for ~12 hours, they must have dried out a little and then were at the correct doughy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe is delicious. I made them for my mom because her favorite thing is orange and chocolate. Be patient with this recipe. Here are some things I did to alter it that work wonderfully: 1. Get the most use out of the orange you bought by zesting 1 teaspoon like the recipe calls for, and additionally peeling a little more than a dozen flakes with the peeler to use as decoration at the end. Instead of using liqueur, I used juice from the orange, reserving what's left for the decoration at the end as well. 2. Add at least an extra tablespoon of orange juice to the filling, maybe even 1 1/2 like I did. It makes them more orangey. 3. I added a little under 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to the filling. It helps with the bitter flavor and makes it sweet. 4. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil for the chocolate coating, this works well. 5. After I dipped all the filling in chocolate, I re-heated the remaining chocolate and added 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and 2-3 tblspns of orange juice (I should have used the leftover juice, but I accidentally threw it out.) I dipped my fork in to the mixture once it was mixed smooth, and drizzled it over the top of the truffles. In the drizzle, on top of each one, I placed an orange zest flake set aside form the beginning. They turned out magnificently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
While I loved this recipe, they were very messy when left out. I had to keep them refrigerated at all times or they would be too messy to eat. I had them at my Christmas party and had to keep putting them in the fridge then back out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States