Chocolate Orange Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I used milk chocolate (that's what I had on hand.) Quite thin, but very tasty. Will make thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Fantastic! The whole family loved it, including all four kids (ages 11, 8, 3, and 2). Getting them to all like the same thing can be a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I've used this for the last two years as my Valentine's Day dessert. It is very good and very rich. I cut the recipe down for two adults and one child. I used 4 ounces of Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa and added 1 ounce of Baker Semi-sweet which added a little sweet but kept the dark chocolate flavor. Between the semi-sweet chocolate and the orange juice, it was just right. The second time I made this I forgot heavy cream, so I just used some half and half. It was thinner, but still coated the dippers. I wouldn't use it to cover strawberries at that constancy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Very good, and easy. I used a bag of Ghiradelli semisweet chips. The fondue was thin at first, but thickened over time in the fondue pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was very tasty. The flavor reminds me of the chocolate oranges you buy around Christmas time. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the dark chocolate, and I substituted orange extract for orange liqueur. We dipped strawberries, raspberries, mandarin orange slices, graham crackers, and marshmallows. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Good, very refined flavor. Fondue restaurant quality recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
UPDATE- Looked in the fridge later and discovered I accidentally used half and half instead of heavy cream. That would be the cause of my failure, both the curdling and the thinness. Half and half NOT a reccomended substitute. This didn't turn out at all for me. First of all, adding the orange juice to my heavy cream managed to make it go sour and start to have little clumps in it. Then when I added the chocolate, it melted but you could still see the white globs from the cream. The texture seemed grainy and yet it was quite thin. There also was not much orange flavor and overall it didn't seem sweet enough to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I really liked this one. I did have to ad a bit more orange liqur then it called for. It was great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was AWESOME! And EASY! I did not have orange liqueur, but used orange extract that I had on hand. I cooked it on the stove and then transfered it to the fondue pot for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Fantastic fondue. I served it at my book club meeting with many different types of fruit and some shortbread. I used the darkest chocolate I could find (Lindt 85% cocoa). The combination of the sweet fruit and the orange/bitter of the dark chocolate was outstanding. For me, milk chocolate would have ruined this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. As an added benefit, the darker the chocolate, the better it is for you health-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States