Chocolate Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I hardly could taste the orange flavor nor was the chocolate adequate. The dough was hard to work with and the cookie itself did not even look attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I followed one suggestion to use cocoa powder instead of chocolate, and added about 1/4 cup more flour as the dough was super sticky. I made a rectangle out of the chocolate dough, placed a rectangle of orange dough on top and rolled them together (no easy fete!), then refridgerated them. When harder, I sliced the dough so they would come out looking like the picture. They were dry and bland when baked. I have no idea how to fix that. Nice idea, but definitely not worth the effort unless someone can fix the recipe once and for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Such a great idea! This is a time intensive recipe IMO but SO worth it. Love to make these as part of our Winter Cookie Line Up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delish. I made pinwheel cookies like shown in one of the photos by rolling out each type of dough into sheets, stacking them, then rolling into a log. Chill the log for ~1 hour in the fridge, and then it'll be super easy to cut into centimeter-thick cookies before baking! Adding a tad more flour (or using lots of flour if rolling them out) helps for working with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made these into yin-yang cookies for my son. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I love this cookie! It has more of a cake like texture. The chocolate and orange work so well together! I prefer mixing the two doughs together rather than sticking them together. Marblize it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written and found these cookies to be delicious. The flavor of the orange zest really comes out and the cookies are soft and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmajeffery123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Easy and delicious! We added a lot more chocolate and a lot more orange zest to make these cookies explode with deliciousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Stout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent!!! I rolled each half into a log and joined them together as suggested. I wrapped it in plastic, put it in the fridge and sliced to bake. Very pretty, very tasty and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Couldn't really taste the orange or the chocolate, and the texture was too soft and limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little-baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States