Chocolate Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
There is an easier way to prepare these. Divide the chocolate and orange dough into two balls, wrap and chill well. Form each ball into a log about 8 - 10 inches long. Slice each log lengthwise with a sharp knife. Reassemble the four half logs into two whole logs, each one half orange, half chocolate. Wrap and chill well. When ready to bake, just unwrap the log and slice evenly. This saves so much time and is not as messy. It also gives a nice clean "half and half" look to the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I love this recipe! It gets very addicting and does turn into a comfort food. The cookie has more of a cake like texture. I prefer swirling the chocolate and orange together like in Simone's picture. It balances the cookies out as oppose to Mallinda's picture. When it is only half + half the cookie tastes incomplete. So remember mix + swirl! (Take a small amount of the orange dough and then a small amount of the chocolate dough and roll it inyour hands!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make. I followed the advice of another poster and floured my hands. With that, I was good to go! I didn't have to add more flour to the recipe, I didn't have to chill, just floured my hands. I also rolled some of the dough individually (didn't mix them together) to make some orange cookies and some chocolate cookies. They were great! So perfectly round, my friends were amazed at the presentation and flavor! Great recipe, will use again! - - - - I made these cookies a second time, but instead of the dark chocolate/orange combination, I did a white chocolate/strawberry combo (substituded white chocolate, and instead of orange zest I put in a few tablespoons of strawberry jam and a few drops of red food coloring). Due to the liquidity of the jam, I did have to add about a half a cup more flour, and this time I refrigerated the dough. They turned out great, I loved that flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P. Ayvazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker McGee
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
After dividing the dough in half I added 1/3 cup cocoa powder to the chocolate side instead of the melted chocolate and then refirgerated both. After they were hardened, I rolled out both sections of dough and then stacked them on each other and then rolled into a log and refrigerated. After the log was cold I cut it into slices and baked the cookies that way. Makes a very pretty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker McGee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Something is wrong with the proportions in this recipe; I'd like to try it with an additional cup of flour. The dough was sticky and hard to work with; I had to chill it before rolling the cookies just so it didn't stick to everything. They're a bit cake-like. The orange was nice and orange-y, I added orange extract; the chocolate was just OK. Overall, these required a lot of work; not worth it for a) a marginal cookie and b) a low-yielding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Excellent cookie. I used 1/2 tsp of orange oil instead of the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These cookies were amazing! My husband and daughter ate them up! I followed the others advice and added a bit more flour, used cocoa powder, and divided them into two logs (which I refrigerated), and they came out wonderful! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Easy and delicious! We added a lot more chocolate and a lot more orange zest to make these cookies explode with deliciousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Stout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Everyone that tried these cookies absolutely LOVED them. I doubled the recipe, so it made a lot. I used fresh orange peel ground in the food processor. These cookies are GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written and found these cookies to be delicious. The flavor of the orange zest really comes out and the cookies are soft and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmajeffery123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States