Chocolate Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Goodness gracious, I love these cookies. So does my entire family- its all I am ever asked to make now. Getting them to look perfect took a few tries, but once I got the feel of it, my cookies began looking great. The flavor is a great mix, I can not recommend these cookies enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Delicious. I added about 1/4 cup extra flour so the dough was stiffer. I don't like flat cookies. They came out perfect. Not dry. To make the orange flavored part look "orange" I added about two drop of red food color and maybe six drops of yellow. They looked really pretty. I also topped them with chocolate by melting about 3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips in the microwave. I ended up putting a large drop of chocolate on the top and then took the back of the spoon to spread it a little. Added to the richness of the cookie and also took the presentation up a notch. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I really liked these. Chilling the dough was important for the chocolate half. Both the chocolate and the orange portions make excellent cookies all by themselves. I tried out the chocolate dought to make cookie cutter cookies and it handled beautifully as a roll out dough. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
i find it very wierd that i did not care for these cookies at all. im sure there was something on my end that i did wrong, eventhough i followed the recipe perfectly. cookies came out more like a cake than a crunchy or chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Great cookie! I made eight Christmas cookies this year & this was the favorite. However, I made the entire cookie orange -- adding two tablespoons of orange zest and orange extract to the dough -- and dipped half the cookie in melted semi-sweet chocolate. Not only did the cookie taste great, it looked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I followed Cindy's suggestion and made logs and sliced the cookies that way to bake them. Easier said than done because this dough is quite sticky. I refrigerated it in the balls for a few hours, then let them warm up a little before forming the logs. Good taste, but the orange seemed to overwhelm the chocolate. My boyfriend gave these 'the nod', so they have to be pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Tasty, interesting presentation with the color mix, fairly easy/quick to make. When the "swirl" method just didn't work for me as hoped, I reverted to the "pinch and ball" making route and it was no big deal; didn't even need to flour my hands. Had to bake for a good 11 min. and then some. Next time, I'll probably punch up the orange flavor a bit with some extract added. Also may try using semi-sweet choc. and other flavor combos with choc., such as lemon or banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I guess I'm just lazy, I combined all ingredients and dropped them onto a silicone baking sheet for 10 minutes, worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I have made these cookies several times - both as written and with an extra 1/2 cup or so of flour (in a doubled recipe). Though I like the looks of the extra flour version (more puffy), to me they turned out too flour-y tasting. Also, the extra flour took out the almost-fudgy quality of the chocolate side when made as written. Regarding how to form the balls - I was skeptical of the "logs" approach, but am a convert. It was easy, fast, and kept my fingers cleaner (cleaning up the flour from the counter is easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I just made these delicious cookies for the first time today - and they are just great! Cakey texture, good balance between the orange and chocolate...just all around good. I made orange sugar, and dipped the orange side in that, and the chocolate side in melted semi-sweet chocolate. They look so pretty. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States