Chocolate Oatmeal Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was excellent. I used peanut butter chips and devil's food cake. They don't spread very much, so you might want to flatten cookies slightly if you are making balls with a scoop like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE FITZGERALD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
EXCELLENT! I followed reviewers' suggestion and used 1 cup butter instead of the margarine & shortening and 2 eggs instead of just one. Also, I cooked it at 350 degrees for 9 minutes. DELICIOUS!!!!! Thanks for this recipe! I finally hit jackpot after looking for so long! And to think you use cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maywood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Wow! These turned out wonderfully! They tasted great warm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
Loved the recipe and the only change I made was milk chocolate mini M&Ms instead of the semi-sweet chocolate chips. It resulted in a much more colorful final product!! These cookies literally disappear every time I make them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Great and easy cookie. Went over well with everyone. I doubled this recipe with no problem. With this great of a cookie I suggest you do the same, as they didn't last long. Also try peanut butter chips for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was a great cookie. I used a devils food cake mix. They were eaten quickly. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Out of this world! Make sure you add all of the oatmeal or cookies will turn out as flat as lace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I am not much of a baker...I HATE measuring. I loved that this recipe required very little measuring. They tasted a lot like no bake cookies. I have made these several times and always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
These cookies are genius! They are tender yet chewy and have a very deep flavor for a "cheater" cookie. Changes I made: I used a chocolate fudge cake mix, put in an extra egg yolk, some toasted pecan pieces and a heaping spoonful of cocoa powder. I can't wait to try more variations...yellow cake with butterscotch chips, chocolate with mint or peanut butter chips...I could daydream about this for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Before making these cookies, I read the reviews and decided to make my own adjustments and the cookies came out perfectly! Oven should be 350. Use 1 Cup butter, omit the shortening, use 2 EGGS and cream them with the butter, brown sugar and water. Follow the recipe as directed. Use 1 TEASPOON per cookie, they really spread out if you use too much batter. Make these adjustments and you will really be pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States