Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe is fantastic. We made these as bar cookies in a 9x11 and baked for 20 min. They were nice and gooey when warm and set up great once they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
These are the best cookies! I looked all over for a recipe oatmeal cookies with cocoa, as I always have cocoa on hand, but not always chocolate chips. They are really moist and even without the chips, very chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITCH65
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I've been looking for a variation on tired, old Tollhouse, but the man insists on chocolate chips! These are fantastic! Chewy and soft, even the next day. No hard cookies here! Very rich and chocolatey. The cinnamon complements the chocolate nicely, adding a unique flavor, and the cocoa powder makes them not just oatmeal cookies with chips in them. Double the recipe to make 72. Sounds like too many cookies, but who measures them out by the teaspoon?! Definitely glass of milk territory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was an almost unanimous 5-star recipe a year or so ago. The recipe hasn't changed of course, so you've got to wonder what the newbies are doing. I do use butter instead of margarine. I must make them slightly larger than the recipe calls, because I end up with 24 cookies instead of 36 (but they still are somewhat on the small side). I bake them for almost 15 minutes, enough for the bottoms of the cookies to barely turn brown. They turn out perfect every time. Not the least bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
What can I say? I couldn't keep my fingers out of this dough!! I used reduced-fat butter and substitued unsweetened applesauce for half of it - I couldn't tell at ALL. Scrumptious! Keep an eye out when they're in the oven though, I couldn't tell whether they were "brown" or not so I just took them out after 10 minutes, they didn't look done, but they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
These cookies are the best! My 4 year old daughter helped me make them, until it came time to put them on the cookie sheet- at that time she couldn't resst eating the cookie dough and was kicked out of the kitchen. :) My husband said everything about this cookie was perfect and wanted this to be a regular in our house. I used m&m's semisweet baking bits and the cookies really looked "cute" with them. Like another reviewer said, you can't tell when these are browned. I cooked them 10 minutes and when I took them out they were a bit mushy. However, after sitting for the recommended 5 minutes, they firmed up. They are a soft, chocolately cookie and I love the oatmeal texture. I didn't know about cinnamon and chocolate together, but the combination is wonderful! Really great, easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Pretty good cookie but maybe a little too much chocolate. The oatmeal is way overpowered by it. Call these "Chocolate with some oatmeal for bulk cookies" and you won't be far off. Still all in all a decent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
After reading many of the posts, I too, decided to make as a bar cookie and added the following raisins, dried cranberries, pecans, a teaspoon of molasses, a dash of pumpkin pie spice and a couple of Tbsp. of rice dream. I only used 2 Tbsp of cocoa, omitting the 3rd. Used a combo of light butter and margarine 3 to 1. Otherwise following the recipe as written. Baked in a 8 x 11 pyrex dish for @ 25-30 minutes at 350. They're moist and very flavorful and a great hit here! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
AWESOME..YUMMY..SPECTACULAR! Every one and I mean EVERYONE loves these cookies! I have to give them away because I end up eating all of them. :o( Try making them bite-size for a variation. They are fun to pop into your mouth..but dangerous because you eat so many that way. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Lovely, fudgey cookies. I used raisins instead of chocolate chips. I will make these again. Husbie wasn't so crazy about them, but he doesn't care for oats or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States