Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Swapped out some butter for apple sauce but other than that - no changes and an excellent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I suspect these cookies rely heavily on the chocolate chips for flavor. I didn't have any and made them without and they were very bland. The cocoa turns them brown but doesn't add much flavor, the cinnamon is more of an aroma than flavor, and they look nothing like the cookies pictured, more like overcooked sausage patties. I'll be trying another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I loved this cookie! The cinnamon, salt, chocolate and don't leave out the oatmeal (which I rough ground in food processor) and I made bars instead of drop cookies. They really were a great, unique flavor combo though! And chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
First I made a single batch and baked as cookies; they were good, but a little dry. They didn't spread hardly at all. The next day I made a double batch of dough and baked in a greased 13x9 pan for 25 - 30 minutes. These turned out more moist and chewy; I think these are better as bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
AWESOME COOKIES!!! The first time I made these cookies I made them per the original recipe. They were good but not great. The second time I read a few more reviews and followed the directions as per Leah Joy, 1/2 AP flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour. I subsituted 1/2 the butter with unsweetened applesauce and used less sugar. THEY ARE PHENOMENAL!! Crispy on the edges but still delightfully chewy. The flavor was only enhanced, they are sooo chocolately! Thank you Leah Joy. I am a diabetic and every little bit helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My daughter and I made these cookies together. I am guilty of subbing butter for margarine. It's just a personal preference. They were delish. DO NOT COOK THEM OVER 10 MINUTES. They will burn. After 10 minutes of cooking the bottom was browned but not burned. Any longer and they would have been toast. Update: 8 minutes is PERFECT! This recipe is a keeper. I can't wait to try it again with the addition of raisins or peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The kids should definitely enjoy these. My cookies didn't flatten the way others had, but they still taste yummy. I made the following changes based on doubling the batch: 1/4 salt, 1/2c butter, 1/2c apple sauce, 2c golden sugar vs white & brown combo, and added 1/4c wheat germ. Made small cookies and baked for 8mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These were perfect! I omitted the cinnamon, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I used this without the chips only bc I didn't have any... Cookie came out sweet and chewy anyway! Wish it kept its thickness but other than that very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJamieCip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I didn't think the cinnamon went well with the chocolate. I left the batter in the fridge for a bit to keep it firm, but it still ended up too thin. I think it needed some more flour. I only used 2 tablespoons of the cocoa. I think it would have been too much with all three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States