Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Not bad, could be sweeter. Made the right amount for us, no double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The only alteration I made was to add 1/2 tsp almond extract and used butter instead of margarine, and that was nice. When I first mixed the dough it was extremely stiff and I didn't have a lot of hope for it. I had to knead it to get the oats all incorporated. I must say, though, that it's a tasty cookie and not at all hard. They are crumbly and I might do something different if I make them again to get a more soft, tender texture. Adding 2T of milk or perhaps cutting back a little on the flour might help. The dryness is the only reason I'm giving them a four, though, because they taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Finally a cookie recipe that lives up to its rating. My whole family loved these and my husband has declared them his "new favorite"! The only thing I would do differently next time is double the recipe because everyone wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yum! I made them in my mixer and the oatmeal got a bit broken up (my butter could have been softer I guess, but in winter it's hard to do) I loved how they turned out! Crispy, chewy and then fudgy in the middle. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I was reading the reviews and looking at the recipe and I made just a few adjustments. First, I made a double batch because they are going to a friend and his boss as a thank you gift. I cut back on the sugar by 1/4 cup each. I used half dark cocoa powder and half regular cocoa powder. I omitted the chocolate chips. I also added some fresh ground nutmeg, a dash of allspice, and 1/4 tsp allspice. These are AMAZING! They would be amazing as written - very sweet but amazing. I adjusted it to suit my taste. Cayenne always kicks up a wonderful floral flavor in chocolate. I definitely suggest you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This chocolate cookie is awesome! I made them into bars, and cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup for brown & white sugars like other reviewers suggested. I also added in some flax meal and used spelt flour instead of regular flour. And a combination of black onyx cocoa and regular cocoa powder. Super yummy, will try with coconut and double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I adore this recipe. I leave out the chocolate chips, but follow everything else exactly as it calls for. The cookies are delicious and hearty - exactly what an oatmeal cookie SHOULD be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
these cookies were delicious. I added coconut for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I used butter and freshly milled whole wheat flour. Did not use chocolate chips since I didn't have any. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States