Chocolate Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used applesauce instead of butter, and 1/2 C cocoa. I can't imagine it without the extra cocoa. The texture was interesting, so if you're looking for something tasty but a bit different, definitely try this cake. I don't think it needs frosting at all. It was tasty without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My mother-in-law had just told me that her mom used to make cake with the leftover breakfast cereal (oatmeal, cream of wheat, etc) so I went hunting. I used half applesauce /half butter and more cocoa (I think 1/2 c as suggested). The cake was moist and sweet without being chocolate-y. I topped with the whipped cream recipe from the site. My MIL loved it - she ate it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I topped this cake with cream cheese frosting and it was awesome. The cake was dense and chocolaty with chewy oatmeal bits and the frosting balanced it perfectly! Everyone in my family liked it and it was gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
fantastic. was a little leery when i saw the oatmeal in it ,but decided to try it anyway. now this is our favorite cake! moist and you can't tell that you ever added oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I substituted applesauce for butter, added 1 tsp of cinnamon, and used 1/4 c of dark chocolate cocoa as other reviewers suggested. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My family loved this cake. Very moist and great flavor. I used 1/2 cup of cocoa like some one suggested. They ate it in one day, making another one today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Aviles LaFrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
not a keeper for us...not enough taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chargis1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was fantastic! I did add extra cocoa like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Chocolatey (used about 1/2 cup cocoa) and yummy. Feels a little good for you too - used about 1/3 cup applesauce in place of 1/3 cup of butter and added butter to make the difference to equal 1/2 cup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is my all-time favorite cake recipe. It's very dense, very moist, and altogether fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States