Chocolate Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious! Moist and easy. I used 1/4 cup apple sauce 1/4 butter, 1 egg 1 egg white, and subbed splenda for half of the sugar. I also used 1/2 cup of cocoa. I didn't add frosting, but cream cheese frosting would be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Best oatmeal cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Delicious! Lovely flavour and very light and moreish. I cooked mine in a 2lb loaf tin and it rose beautifully. It really doesn't need icing it's so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
As one of the reviewers suggested, I substituted applesauce for the oil. Coupled with the oatmeal, the result was one heavy cake--very dense. If I make this again I'll go for the fat and add the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used butter cream with cream cheese for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did make some adjustments like using applesauce for the butter, adding an additional T. of cocoa, and 1/2 t. of cinnamon. I thought the cake had a nice flavor, but wasn't expecting it to be so "chewy". This is the first time I have used oatmeal in a cake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
SERIOUSLY the best cake ever! I used 1/2 cup Cocoa powder and 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 1. The flavor and texture was amazing! So moist and chewy. LOVED the oatmeal in it - it gives it the best texture. I made a Chocolate Ganache to go on top and it was great. My husband who doesn't eat chocolate or dessert had two pieces saying it was by far the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I will be using this recipe again and again for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made this cake yesterday. I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder and still found that the cake didnt have enough flavour. If it was more chocolately it would have been a really nice cake. I will try making it again adding more cocoa and maybe choc chips. UPDATE.. Made cake again using 4 tablespoons plus half cup of cocoa powder and added 1 tsp on cinnamon. I also swapped the butter for applesauce. YUM. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I had very limited baking supplies in the cupboard, and this cake met all of my search requirements. Given that fact, this cake was excellent! The oatmeal gave it a different texture, but it was a welcome one. Some of the kids wouldn't touch it when I said it had oatmeal in it, but once they did a taste test, they ended up really enjoying it. I didn't tell the adults about the secret ingredient, and only one person guessed it was oatmeal. Since the recipe didn't specify between slow cooked oats or instant oats, I used the instant oats in my cupboard, and it turned out fantastic. It almost dissolved the oats -- I can't figure out why no one could really taste the oatmeal! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, as suggested, and it gave a wonderful flavor. I had to use Ener-G egg replacement instead of the two eggs because of my son's allergy. I also used an extra teaspoon of cocoa. Wonderful cake! Why only four stars? Because I probably wouldn't bake it again unless I had limited ingredients in the house, plus the standard store-bought frosting made it just okay, and it definitely needs a topping, but I'm not sure what kind would make it fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used applesauce instead of butter, and 1/2 C cocoa. I can't imagine it without the extra cocoa. The texture was interesting, so if you're looking for something tasty but a bit different, definitely try this cake. I don't think it needs frosting at all. It was tasty without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States