Chocolate Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Not sure what happened here, but the texture of this cake was very crumbly, it basically fell apart when I tried to turn it out of the pan. Some reviews also comment on the blandness of the cake; it needs more cocoa, about twice as much or more will solve that problem. The flavour was good (with the additional cocoa) I may play around with it a bit to get the texture right; or look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
A wonderfully easy and delicious standby cake. I used very hot leftover coffee instead of water. I'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
We didn't really like the texture of this cake. I guess we just don't like cakes with soaked oatmeal. It also didn't have much chocolate flavor. I'd prefer a good oatmeal cake with coconut broiled topping or a good chocolate cake. This cake doesn't have enough flavor of either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Nice cake, quick to make. Fairly crumbly. I can just imagine how nice it would be it with some raspberry jam in the middle! I also think it's important to let the oats soak thoroughly as some of mine ended up at the bottom. Will try it with apple sauce (instead of using oil, or for half the oil) next time, now that I know what it is supposed to be like as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Yummy cake. It's not too sweet and the oatmeal gives it a nice texture. I didn't have luck with one 8x8 pan - I had burned cake all over my oven. I'm baking it in a 13x8 now - we'll see how it turns out. I also dusted the pan with cocoa. Next time I'll try it with applesauce instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Easy to prepare, great fudgey flavor, family says it's a keeper. I have already had 2 request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
this is good. but not a favorite atlest for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
A pretty tasteless cake! The texture was alright and pretty fine even though I sub 1/4 with wholemeal flour, but it tastes REALLY bland. Will not make this again, its a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I thought this cake was excellent. I made it exactly per the recipe. Almost tasted like a brownie, without the flaky top. Very good with whipped cream or ice cream on top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I was not impressed with this recipe. I thought it was rather bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States