Chocolate Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used some chocolate oatmeal packets for the oats and that worked out great. They included some flax seeds but the extra texture was not a problem. For the frosting, I didn't have any instant coffee granules so I just brewed some strong coffee and let is cool. I also used some shortening in place of part of the butter and it was fluffy. My daughter has requested this cake again this weekend. I think I will make it as cupcakes and just put powdered sugar on some and frosting on the side to add to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Good and quick, I wasn't sure if I was crazy about the texture of the oatmeal in the cake. I only had old fashioned oats, so maybe it would be different with quick oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redkathy
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This cake was exceptionally moist. Not being fond of frosting, it was omitted. I used regular oatmeal rather than quick cooking and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
omg!! my ex's mother used to make a cake similar to this for his birthday, but she would never tell me the recipe because she said it was a family secret. i cannot tell you how excited i was when i made this and it tasted EXACTLY like her cake. i just joined allrecipes so i could give you a good rating. DELICIOUS! it's also very good with toasted oats sprinkled on top. mmm! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktmar12
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
The cake part was ok but the icing was WAY too sweet.If I make this again,which I doubt,I'll whip up some whipping cream and add a teasoon of coffee granules to it and a bit of sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I reviewed this based on a variation in the past and I realised that it was unfair of me. I will try this again as originally posted :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this cake 3 times in 2 weeks. Everyone loved it and had seconds. The only thing I thought could be improved was the frosting...it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Delicious! The only change I made was to use 1 1/2 c. boiling coffee instead of water to make it a little more coffee-ish. It was a big hit at my office party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was an unbelievably moist and delicious cake and the frosting was outstanding - rich, creamy, with a luscious coffee flavor. I used only three cups of confectioners sugar (it was all I had), and that was just right. I used soy milk and margarine to make it non-dairy, I made it a layer cake, and sprinkled some crushed hazelnuts on top. The oatmeal gave it a more sophisticated flavor and an interesting texture to complement the frosting. It turned out to be an elegant dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
While searching for a Valentine's Day cake recipe, I realized there wasn't that much ingredients to choose from in my pantry. Finally, when I chose this recipe, I used it, and my family loved it! The icing was great- it tasted like coffee ice cream- and I added cream cheese in it and didn't have the vanilla extract. I'd recommend it if you like chocolate and coffee! It tastes like one of those toffee filling candies in the Valentine chocolate boxes. :) Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States