Chocolate Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
These bars are unbelievably good! I will definitely make these again (and again, and again and again)!! For the record, I used chopped almonds rather than walnuts as people in my house find walnuts a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
mine came out a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Theses are the best oatmeal bars i have ever had! I brought them to a bake sale and they were gone in 10 minutes. try them and you'll see!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
My children said that these were delicious. Very rich bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
This recipe was entirely too big for a 9 inch square pan. As it cooked, it nearly rose over the edge of the pan, and took WAY longer to cook than the 25 - 30 minutes the recipe called for. After 30 minutes, the edges of the pan were dark brown, and the middle was like soup. I think this definately needs a bigger pan. Also, making the chocolate filling was too much trouble, and also a little soupy. I probably won't ever make these again. Too bad, I used up alot of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
There is something wrong with this recipe. The pan size is way to small. I will try this recipe once more using a jelly roll pan - because even though the first try didn't turn out, they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
After reading reviews I tried a bigger pan but didn't have enough for layers. Not a bad flavor but a little gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This recipe should be made in a 9x13 pan, not a 9" square pan. They came out perfect in the longer pan. The recipe said that it is supposed to make 3 dozen bars. No way in a 9" square pan! That was my clue. In fact I didn't realize that it was originally written as 9" until after I had made them. I just assumed since they were bar cookies that I was supposed to use my bar pan :-) Kids loved them - even with the oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
It certainly does need the 9x13 and by reading the other reviews I knew this. My try at this turned out very much like a moist cake-like bar when it came out of the oven-we can never wait for things to cool- and the next day settled into a gooey chocolatey bar cookie. Both ways were excellent! We like to eat it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I thought the recipie turned out pretty good, but just not sweet enough for my taste. I will try it again and probably increase the brown sugar by about a half cup, and use a little bit more of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States