Chocolate Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These had a wonderful flavor but I wish I would have read the reviews first because mine came out mushy since I used the 9 inch square pan. I will definitely make them again but use a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These bars turned out mushy. It seemed as though a 9" square pan was too small. We had them scooped out over ice cream and they were quite good, but not at all bars, more like a pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
It took longer than I expected to prepare. They tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Although most of the people who tasted the bars said they were "alright". I can't say I really enjoyed this recipe. I had to make a few changes. (pan size, baking crust first, increased baking time...) Maybe I was just having an off day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe turns out perfectly even with evaporated milk in a 9x13 pan. I usually double the recipe and use a 16x12x1 in. cookie sheet. I also leave out the walnuts b/c of personal preference. Granted the filling can be a little tedious(constant stirring) but its minimal effort for an incredibly tasty bar. I HAVE to bring these to every event I attend or risk being shunned by friends and family alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My mom made these all the time growing up, and they are my favorite however the recipe here is a little off. Use Sweetened and Condensed milk not evaporated milk. Also, save some of the crust to sprinkle on the top and bake the crust for about 15 minutes before adding the rest to it, that makes it more of a bar base and not so mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
The proportions are totally wrong and leave you with a soupy mess, not bars. Additionally, condensed milk and evaporated milk are TWO DIFFERENT things. Condensed works, evaporated doesn't. You get the tard award for writing this so totally wrong recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Delicious!! Yes they do crumble a bit, but I'd rather have a tasty bar than a tidy and less tasty bar. I increased all ingredients by 50% and baked this on a heavy 10x17 cookie sheet for 25 minutes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I thought the recipie turned out pretty good, but just not sweet enough for my taste. I will try it again and probably increase the brown sugar by about a half cup, and use a little bit more of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
It certainly does need the 9x13 and by reading the other reviews I knew this. My try at this turned out very much like a moist cake-like bar when it came out of the oven-we can never wait for things to cool- and the next day settled into a gooey chocolatey bar cookie. Both ways were excellent! We like to eat it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States