Chocolate Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My family thought that this recipe was AMAZING!!We made it for guests and my daughters soccer game and everybody loved it.We will definitely be baking these again!It is not true that evaporated milk doesn't work, it works fine!If you have extra filling, we highly recommend using it as fondue for bananas or strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this with condensed milk instead of evaporated milk and it was still a little gooey but super yummy! Great family recipe, I probably wouldn't make it for company just because its not very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Used a 13 by 9 to bake it and used sweetened condensed milk instead of evap. I also added more oatmeal on the last step until it was more "crumbly". It came out very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe definitely has potential. But as others have already said, the proportions are off. I added all the oats and an additional one fourth cup flour to the base mixture. Then I used two thirds as the base pressed into the pan and the remainder as topping. Used a 15 x 9 pan. Turned out perfect! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This recipe was pretty good but I changed a couple of things. First, after reading other reviews a ended up using a 9x13 in pan. I also baked the cookie bottom about 10 mins before I added the chocolate and the topping. For the chocolate topping I used evaporated milk and omitted the sugar. I thought that the chocolate seemed thin so I doubled it. I also used almonds instead of walnuts; it is what I had on hand. These are tasty but REALLY rich. I think if I made them again I would cut the butter in the cookie part to be only 1 cup. The cookie part is a little greasy and I think that the taste and texture would still be good with less butter. I also might try using almond flour instead of reg flour for a gluten free option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I followed the directions except 1) I used a can of condensed milk instead of the evaporated milk and I ommitted the 1/4 cup sugar in the filling and 2) I cooked the bars in a 9 x 13 pan and 3) I precooked the base for about 12 minutes. They turned out okay, but they use SO much butter that I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
In a 9x13 pan with sweetened condensed milk this always comes out incredibly! one of my favorite recipes of all time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I used this recipe solely for the chocolate filling. I had my own crumb recipe. It was wonderful. I don't know why everyone was so bent out of shape about using the evaporated milk. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Once I realized how small a 9x9 pan looked next to the cookie base, I immediately got out the 9x13! We haven't tried it yet as it just came out of the oven, but the recipe was very easy to follow and took no time whatsoever! It smells great, can't wait for it to set up so we can DIG IN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe turns out great if you use a larger pan. I took these to a holiday party and everyone asked for the recipe. And anyone who thinks the filling is too much trouble either doesn't work often with chocolate or is incredibly lazy. It only took about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States