Chocolate Oat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This has the potential to be great, but the recipe as it stands produces very dry, crumbly bars that are far too sweet. Most of them went in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Half of this recipe fits nicely in a 8" square baking pan. It's a bit labour intensive for squares, but the result is quite delicious. Try it with other nuts if you don't like walnuts. Thanks Janea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I found this recipe origanally in a Taste of Home cookbook belonging to my mother. The taste of home version called for only 3 cups of quick cooking oats and called to be baked in a 10x15" baking pan. With this change the cookies come out soft and chewy. Please note that these cookies are REALLY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
We call these Fudge Jumbles in my house and love to make them all the time. We omit the nuts though as we don't like them. Still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Moneypenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This recipe is really yummy, very moist. It has a great combination of chocolate and cookie crust. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious!!! Only thing I changed was to leave out the nuts for we don't like them. At first I worried that the dough was too think, but it was perfect. Some reviews have said the bars are too rich, thick, and sweet. Of couse they are--look at the ingredients!! They ARE rich and thick and DELICIOUS!!!!! :) I had to cut into a corner well before they were cool for the smell was just too good). Thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This cookie tasted good- but was too rich. I ended up disposing of part of cookies because no one could eat much. If I do make this again, I would either double oatmeal part of this recipe and use half chocolate mixture in each recipe or I would just use melted chocolate chips between oatmeal layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These are so delicious! I use a larger pan because it's easier to spread them. I love the fudge center. These are always a favorite at any event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These "bars" are actually fudge sandwiched between sweet oatmeal cookies. More of a candy. WAY too sweet for anyone in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
MY FAMILY LOVED THESE!! OUR ADULT SON SHARED THESE WITH HIS FRIENDS AND STATED THEY WERE A BIG HIT. I WILL MAKE THESE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States