Chocolate Oat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I've made these bars probably six times a year for 10 years and they're always a hit. I don't change the recipe much. I use parchment paper in the pan, use fat-free sweetened condensed milk, add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the oatmeal mixture, toast the walnuts beforehand and use 2 different vanillas (Mexican vanilla in the chocolate mixture and Madagascar vanilla for the oatmeal mixture). The chocolate mixture is easy to melt on a 50% setting in the microwave. The hardest/most time consuming part of making the cookies is spreading the oatmeal mixture in the bottom of the pan. For the top crust, I take some oatmeal dough and flatten it a bit in my hands, then lay it on top of the chocolate mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
For the last couple years I've made this every time a friend has a baby. It is a great late night snack. Most of them say their hubbies eat more than their fair share and that they're gone too quickly! It makes a ton and they are oh so good! My husband loves it when a friend has a baby because it means he gets a few! I just leave out the nuts because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are excellent and easy to make. I ADD a layer of crunchy Adams peanut butter down before I add the chocolate mixture. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
super delicious! very moist and chocolatey! the whole family loved it! i used a wider pan around. 10 1/2 x 15 1/2. this way the chocolate mixture and the oats mixture will spread a bit thinner making the sweetness much acceptable for those who complained about the richness of the recipe. i baked it for 20 minutes, let it cool in the pan. slicing it wasn't difficult at all. just make sure that it is cool enough.that's the trick! :-) happy baking and enjoy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These are so delicious! I use a larger pan because it's easier to spread them. I love the fudge center. These are always a favorite at any event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are delicious - a big hit here at home. I didn't have semi sweet chocolate chips only milk chocolate so that is what i used and I thought it might turn out to sweet but it did not. Its perfect. Too good cause you are tempted to eat more then one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I would definitely recommend reducing the oats to 3 cups to keep it moist. I also made mine on a cookie sheet/jelly roll pan to make them thinner. It's a VERY rich recipe, and the thinner bars seemed to be just right. Any thicker and it would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious!!! Only thing I changed was to leave out the nuts for we don't like them. At first I worried that the dough was too think, but it was perfect. Some reviews have said the bars are too rich, thick, and sweet. Of couse they are--look at the ingredients!! They ARE rich and thick and DELICIOUS!!!!! :) I had to cut into a corner well before they were cool for the smell was just too good). Thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is the best bar cookie I've ever had. I didn't have butter so I used butter flavored Crisco and it still turned out chewy and good!! I didn't put in nuts cause kids don't like them. Next time I'll use real butter and I'm sure it will be even better. Thanks for recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I found this recipe origanally in a Taste of Home cookbook belonging to my mother. The taste of home version called for only 3 cups of quick cooking oats and called to be baked in a 10x15" baking pan. With this change the cookies come out soft and chewy. Please note that these cookies are REALLY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States