Chocolate Nutty Mini-Football Treats™ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made these cookies for Super Bowl Sunday. My husband and children loved them. They turned out well. I think the recipe would be ok with regular Rice Krispies if you added a couple of tablespoons of cocoa to the marshmallow mixture before adding the Rice Krispies. My husband has requested the addition of peanut butter to regular Rice Krispie cookies since he tasted these. A nice treat and I'm sure they will be requested at my house again for the next Super Bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made these for a Super Bowl party and they were a huge hit, especially with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flashsmith
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made these to take to Super Bowl 2011! A double batch made 40! Everyone, young and old loved them. I made the first batch as stated and the second batch I put 2 oz. semi sweet bakers chocolate in with the butter and marshmallows. We liked the extra chocolate! Thank You so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
always a great hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe called for, and they came out great! I think the trick is to melt the marshmallows and put the peanut butter in and then the cereal as fast as possible. Once it starts to cool, it gets hard to mix together. So have all of your ingredients measured out ahead of time so you can just throw everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Perfect! Except I used a whole box of the cereal. I made these for my company’s Tailgate party. My first time making them and they were a HUGE hit! I did shape them into footballs and piped on the white icing, they looked so cute. They tasted even better, everyone complemented and even requested more. I had to bring in another batch just for fun one week, shaped this one into a big heart (used my heart shaped cake pan for it). I even had to give my boss the recipe because she loved them so much. I’m so happy I found this secret treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
They are super cute and work great for my tailgating party. I didn't add peanut butter and they still taste great. I used PAM on my hands and an ice cream scoop and that helped me. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauraleigh
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Cute idea! Though didn't care for the cocoa crispies/peanut butter in this recipe. Next time I will try a traditional rice krispie treat recipe and add food color to the marshmallow mixture to achieve the brown color. Making the football shapes is SUPER easy: cup your hands together with the mixture, massage and press - and voila! It will come out in a football shape. I put icing in a ziploc bag and cut a corner to dispense the frosting for the "stitches" on the football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These weren't amazing. Not only did they take forever to make (melting the marshmallows took forever!) but they took forever to eat, too. They were basically chocolate Rice Krispy Treats. The football shape was cute, but I won't be making these again. Too much fuss for a so-so result. Typical food corporation recipe... I'm just glad I'm not dissing some cook's personal creation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Turned out really cute... I used the pointy side of plastic easter eggs (sprayed with spray oil)to help me shape the footballs after I squeezed them into oblong balls. About 1/4 cup mix for each football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States