Chocolate Mousse II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Very impressive mousse! I melted the chocolate in a double boiler, because I'm paranoid about the chocolate seizing. I also whipped up a bit of cream, folded the chocolate in, and then added the whipped egg whites to make the mousse a bit creamier. I do like the fluffiness that comes from the egg whites in this recipe though... it's like eating a chocolate cloud! I used half milk & half dark chocolate (found pure dark to be too rich the first time around), and waited until it had cooled to body temperature (test temp on your wrist) before adding the egg yolks. The chocolate-yolk mixture gets quite thick, but if you fold it right after you combine the yolk & chocolate, it blends just fine. For added pizzaz, I drizzled some melted chocolate in random patterns onto waxed paper, cooled it in the refrigerator, then broke off the chocolate "designs" and stuck it into the mousse, which had been spooned into wine glasses. My friends loved the dessert, and now think I'm Martha, all for relatively little effort! Thanks for the yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
this is such an easy mousse that I didn't think it would be that good but it is AWESOME and so, so easy!!!! I recommend it, for yourself or for a dinner party, it can look as elegant and elaborate as you want, all you have to do is decorate it with chocolate shavings. I didn't find it at all bitter, so you can add whipped topping if you like but its not necessary at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I had a lot of trouble folding the eggs in because by the time I beat the egg whites, the chocolate mixture had gotten too hard. If I were to attempt this again, I might melt the chocolate over a double boiler and keep it warm until it was time to add the egg whites. I've never attempted a chocolate mousse before, so I just naively thought that maybe the hardened chocolate mixture would magically blend with the soft fluffy egg whites. Yeah, it didn't. Oh well, I ended up beating the chocolate into the egg whites and it still tasted good (its hard to screw up chocolate THAT much), just not fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This is a wonderfully easy recipe but you would never know by the taste. My first attempt at chocolate mousse was a great success thanks to this recipe. I served it in margarita glasses and topped it w/ whipped cream sprinkled with chocolate slivers. I also stuck a Kit Kat bar down into the side of the glass. Beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILCOUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Varnado, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
20+yrs ago i first found this recipe in the 2nd or 3rd sequel to "recipes from the back of boxes...." i couldnt find my cookbook and was hunting online for awhile! so glad to find this. too bad for those who think this is too chocolatey! like so many simple things, overthinking this one can ruin it, but keeping it simple keeps it foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
THE BEST! Doesn't get any easier or more delicious. I melted the choc. chips in a bowl in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Really quick and super easy to make, and it actually tasted quite good. I microwaved the chocolate chips and then whisked it with the hot water until smooth, less dishes that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I made this recipe a few times and I think it is delicious. It is fluffy and light like mousse should be, not a creamy pudding texture. If you want pudding texture, make pudding! My friends all love it when I make this rich chocolate mousse. It is a little bit messy to make but the taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This taste of this was good. But the amount of liquid seemed off. The chocolate chips didn't melt all the way. I wound up putting it in the micro for about 30 seconds each time I have made it. This recipe works for a quick chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
A little more challenging to make, but to be expected for mousse I suppose. Delicious if made right, but rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States