Chocolate Mousse II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
this is such an easy mousse that I didn't think it would be that good but it is AWESOME and so, so easy!!!! I recommend it, for yourself or for a dinner party, it can look as elegant and elaborate as you want, all you have to do is decorate it with chocolate shavings. I didn't find it at all bitter, so you can add whipped topping if you like but its not necessary at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I made this for my family and they all liked it except my little brother. It was the first mousse I made and the first food I tried to make look fancy. I sprayed on some whipped cream, crunched up some Hershey Kisses and sprinkled it on, and stuck a peppermint stick on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Over all decent recipe. Although, the end consistancy of the mousse isn't what I expected at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaColada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This mousse tasted fantastic. I did have a little trouble getting all of the chocolate out of the blender. I think it would be easier in a good food processer. Also, I don't think the servings are quite right (It made 3.5 servings for me.) I served this in a wine glass, topped with a little homemade whipped cream (I made the whipped cream a little less sweet so that it would balance with the rich mousse) and some chocolate shavings helped make a beautiful presentation when serving to guests. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Very impressive mousse! I melted the chocolate in a double boiler, because I'm paranoid about the chocolate seizing. I also whipped up a bit of cream, folded the chocolate in, and then added the whipped egg whites to make the mousse a bit creamier. I do like the fluffiness that comes from the egg whites in this recipe though... it's like eating a chocolate cloud! I used half milk & half dark chocolate (found pure dark to be too rich the first time around), and waited until it had cooled to body temperature (test temp on your wrist) before adding the egg yolks. The chocolate-yolk mixture gets quite thick, but if you fold it right after you combine the yolk & chocolate, it blends just fine. For added pizzaz, I drizzled some melted chocolate in random patterns onto waxed paper, cooled it in the refrigerator, then broke off the chocolate "designs" and stuck it into the mousse, which had been spooned into wine glasses. My friends loved the dessert, and now think I'm Martha, all for relatively little effort! Thanks for the yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This is a wonderfully easy recipe but you would never know by the taste. My first attempt at chocolate mousse was a great success thanks to this recipe. I served it in margarita glasses and topped it w/ whipped cream sprinkled with chocolate slivers. I also stuck a Kit Kat bar down into the side of the glass. Beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILCOUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Varnado, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I had a lot of trouble folding the eggs in because by the time I beat the egg whites, the chocolate mixture had gotten too hard. If I were to attempt this again, I might melt the chocolate over a double boiler and keep it warm until it was time to add the egg whites. I've never attempted a chocolate mousse before, so I just naively thought that maybe the hardened chocolate mixture would magically blend with the soft fluffy egg whites. Yeah, it didn't. Oh well, I ended up beating the chocolate into the egg whites and it still tasted good (its hard to screw up chocolate THAT much), just not fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Great finish to a classy dinner! I made it in my college dorm kitchen using a blender and a hand beater... no electric mixer... Yes, it was messy, but it tasted professional and could be done on a budget with limited cooking tools. Wowed a boyfriend with my domestic skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This taste of this was good. But the amount of liquid seemed off. The chocolate chips didn't melt all the way. I wound up putting it in the micro for about 30 seconds each time I have made it. This recipe works for a quick chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This mousse was amazing!!! B/c some of the other reviews said it was a little too rich, I added some whipping cream to the melted chocolate. I thought I screwed up when I folded the egg whites in, but it turned out really well. If I can do it, anyone can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States