Chocolate Mousse I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Just made this for my husband's birthday party, and spooned it into short martini glasses. I used rum-flavored Kahlua and semi-sweet chocolate and followed the directions. To save clean-up, I used the whisk attachment on my immersion blender to beat the egg yolks and add them to the melted chocolate, and then I used my KitchenAid hand mixer to beat the egg whites. It worked perfectly, and I will have to make another half recipe so I have 14 servings. I think I will add a few raspberries to each glass to garnish for a non-dairy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Challahmaven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Wonderful! Followed the instructions exactly and it turned out perfect! After melting the chocolate I let it cool slightly and poured it into another bowl that had the egg yolks pre-mixed. I think this might have helped with what others said about small chunks when it cooked the egg yolks. With just two ingredients, this recipe is simple and easy, but looks and tastes like you slaved for ours. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautycake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Yum! I used bittersweet Ghirardelli chocolate pieces and Frangelico hazelnut liqueur instead of rum. We first mixed about a third of the egg whites into the chocolate with a whisk to make the incorporation easier. In erring on the side of caution for fear of losing volume, we probably didn't fold the whites in as much as we should have. There were some small chunks, but honestly the mousse was still fabulous, light and airy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodfan
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe was very tasty and quick to prepare. There was one scary moment when I accidentally added the liqueur to the melted chocolate before adding the eggs. DON'T DO THIS. It really got stiff and hard to manage, luckily the egg yolks went in smoothly and it turned out well (with lots of beating). I will follow the instructions precisely next time. Folding the egg whites into the chocolate properly is also key, if you don't keep folding you end up with tiny (egg white) lumps. I will definitely be trying this again with different flavoring as well! Also, to the reviewer who said they ended up with a burned chocolate taste: watch the chocolate when melting it, if you let it scorch, your mousse will not work out. Please give this recipe a try, it really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
To the reviewer who said her chocolate became pasty after adding her egg yolks ...this will happen if you add your eggs in hot chocolate because it cooks up the eggs.Make sure the chocolate is somewhat cool to the touch when you add the yolks and you should not have a clumpy pasty chocolate mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was just awful. I melted the choc via microwave according to guide book. But when I started to add the eggs, it "dried up"?? SO it looked liked paste. I folded in the egg whites, but that didn't make a difference, now it was soupy and GRITTY??? What a waste of eggs; especially at the price of eggs these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My mousse came out great. I do think the kind of chocolate you use will affect the flavor; however, I don't think the quality affects the consistency of the mousse itself. I used a cheap bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips that I bought 4-6 months ago, and the texture of the mousse still came out perfectly. The semi-sweet flavor of the chocolate was a bit overwhelming; next time I will simply use a chocolate I like to eat as is for the mousse. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Have done this recipe twice. Very simple to do and delicious. This is now a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very good - I used Tia Maria as the alcohol, and 72% dark chocolate. It took quite awhile to blend the egg yolk/chocolate mixture with the egg white, and there were a few little lumps of chocolate left, but it tasted great. I served it in glasses with a side serve of vanilla bean ice cream to cut through the richness - guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I really like this simple recipe. I think you can flavor it up any way you'd like to suit your taste. I only had semi-sweet chocolate in the house and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States