Chocolate Mousse Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
A pretty solid recipe. I did need to substitute coolwhip for the cream due to dairy allergy. The base was a bit dry, and that was only baking it for 28 minutes. Other than that I have no other issues. I will note that if you do not like dark chocolate you may want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Because there is no baking soda or powder, the cake is dense and short. I was expecting a taller cake and it was disappointing. The mousse on top was great and I mixed cocoa powder and powdered sugar together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this for my husband's birthday. Light and fluffy. So tasty and I'm not usually a whip cream fan. Not overly sweet and surprisingly light for a no-flour cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina H Leung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe is not worth the trouble. The cake is dense and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Amazing!! I left the ring on the springform pan to try to get the top layer of mousse to mold/set - left it in the fridge for 24 hours. It stayed together for a very short time once served but not once I started cutting it. I might try to place it in the freezer briefly before cutting it next time. Topped it with blueberries. It was so wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was SO good. I needed a dessert for a reduced sugar, gluten free and dairy/lactose free meal and this did the trick! I replaced the sugar with splenda, the cream with cool whip and the butter with margerine. It was STILL good!! I'm giving it 5 stars even though I modified it (some people seem to think that shouldn't be done) because I figure if this tasted so good with the modifications I made it's a pretty stellar recipe! It came out so light and airy but rich, and not too sweet (or not sweet enough) at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. if you try it bake for 20 minutes not 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Amazing cake! Airy and moist, and simply wonderful. I made individual deserts for a party, and they were all gone in less than 15 minutes. People were literally liking their fingers. I did use 100 g of butter, cause 30 seemed too little. And I used 300 g of dark chocolate, and 50 g white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AsiaLiv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wow was this good. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect.. the cake was nice and moist and spongey... And the mousse topping was to die for. I used a bag of Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate chips.. But definately use one with a high cacao %. My chocolate cooled a bit before I mixed it in, so I ended up with little nubs in the mousse.. but I LOVED it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
mmmmhh....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States