Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I've made this a few times now. It's fabulous! I always get lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This mousse was fabulous. I didn't use a box mix, rather I used the recipe "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III". The results were wonderful. I did find the mousse a little difficult to spread, and in the future I may tweak this a little to modify the consistency. The taste though is really fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Goodness in a couple of boxes... Yummy! My frosting came out more like thick pudding instead of whipped, but it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My boyfriend requested this for his birthday! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe called for> turned out AMAZING!!!! this on is definately a permanent resident in my cookbook! Ok so am going to make an addition to my review! I wanted something different for MY birthday, so I substituted french vanilla cake, white chocolate and white chocoloate pudding and garnished with raspberries! WOW YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The filling/frosting is delicious...my husband and I couldn't stop eating it. It does help in step#2 to stir in the pudding with a wire whisk to help dissolve the pudding so you don't have a gritty texture. I plan to make the filling as a chocolate mousse dessert alone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Phenomenal! Instead of a layer cake (which I do not have good luck with) I made a 9x13 cake and poked holes in it after cooling. I then let the mousse ooze in to the holes and then spread a good portion over the top. The result was fantastic! Everyone loved it! I did use only 1/4 cup of water instead of the 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
absolutley fantastic!! The only things I changed were I made the cake and mousse from scratch. I used devils chocolate cake and chocolate mouse (Both Martha recipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
tasted like pudding..i mean it tasted good but it just wasnt a good mousse/filling/frosting. i made a different frosting from this site to top which was phenomenal. ill stick with that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
the chocolate mousse was delicious! i couldn't stop licking the spoon, while my husband waited for the empty bowl...this is definitely a keeper. i did follow some suggestions like cutting water down to 1/4 c., making sure that the bowl & mixer was cold prior to whipping the cream, and folding in 1/3 of the cream mixture at a time...i also added about over a tbls of powder sugar to the cream. the end result was very rich---i cannot wait to make this chocolate mousse frosting with homemade chocolate cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is really a very good cake recipe! I do not like frosting AT ALL (to the point of scraping it off the cake) and this mousse "frosting" is a great alternative -- it's rich and chocolatey without being too much. I took some other peoples advice and used 1/3 C. water instead of 1/2 and made 2 square 1-layer cakes instead of 1 frosted layer (after reading the "sliding" issue, I thought this would be good -- plus I can take 1 cake to the dinner and keep 1 for our family!). I would recommend this for any chocolate lover (and I can see so many possibilities for this using different flavored cakes -- amaretto, cinnamon, orange, etc.). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States