Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My boyfriend requested this for his birthday! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe called for> turned out AMAZING!!!! this on is definately a permanent resident in my cookbook! Ok so am going to make an addition to my review! I wanted something different for MY birthday, so I substituted french vanilla cake, white chocolate and white chocoloate pudding and garnished with raspberries! WOW YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The filling/frosting is delicious...my husband and I couldn't stop eating it. It does help in step#2 to stir in the pudding with a wire whisk to help dissolve the pudding so you don't have a gritty texture. I plan to make the filling as a chocolate mousse dessert alone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Phenomenal! Instead of a layer cake (which I do not have good luck with) I made a 9x13 cake and poked holes in it after cooling. I then let the mousse ooze in to the holes and then spread a good portion over the top. The result was fantastic! Everyone loved it! I did use only 1/4 cup of water instead of the 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
absolutley fantastic!! The only things I changed were I made the cake and mousse from scratch. I used devils chocolate cake and chocolate mouse (Both Martha recipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
tasted like pudding..i mean it tasted good but it just wasnt a good mousse/filling/frosting. i made a different frosting from this site to top which was phenomenal. ill stick with that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
the chocolate mousse was delicious! i couldn't stop licking the spoon, while my husband waited for the empty bowl...this is definitely a keeper. i did follow some suggestions like cutting water down to 1/4 c., making sure that the bowl & mixer was cold prior to whipping the cream, and folding in 1/3 of the cream mixture at a time...i also added about over a tbls of powder sugar to the cream. the end result was very rich---i cannot wait to make this chocolate mousse frosting with homemade chocolate cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is really a very good cake recipe! I do not like frosting AT ALL (to the point of scraping it off the cake) and this mousse "frosting" is a great alternative -- it's rich and chocolatey without being too much. I took some other peoples advice and used 1/3 C. water instead of 1/2 and made 2 square 1-layer cakes instead of 1 frosted layer (after reading the "sliding" issue, I thought this would be good -- plus I can take 1 cake to the dinner and keep 1 for our family!). I would recommend this for any chocolate lover (and I can see so many possibilities for this using different flavored cakes -- amaretto, cinnamon, orange, etc.). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This rating is for the mousse ONLY - The reason is that it was so delicious, it didn't need the cake! We tasted the mousse and LOVED it, so we decided to enjoy it on its own. I may try putting it in mini graham cracker pie shells for something extra, but either way, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I only gave it four stars because it was a bit of work..however......This cake is awesome! I will most certainly make this again and again. huge hit at my house. Thank you very very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Used my chocolate cake recipe with the mousse.This was excellent!Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States