Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday (she is a dessert queen), and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
LOVE this cake! I have made it several times. Be sure to do as the other reviewers have suggested (1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar before whipping the whipping cream & place beaters and bowl in the freezer to keep the whipping cream cold during whipping). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Everyone loved it! I used white cake this time but next time I will make chocolate cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Outstanding!! My 9 year old son asked for a chocolate mousse cake for his birthday and I will admit I was a bit worried it would be too complicated and not come out well, then I found this recipe. Soooo easy! I used a devils food cake mix and followed the recipe exactly. Do make sure you whip your cream until stiff peaks are formed and this cake is best served after setting up in the refrigerator at least 8 hours or overnight. I also divided the cake layers in two so I would have a four layer cake. I think this helps with keeping the cake from sliding because the cake layers are lighter weight which helps keep the mousse from oozing out the sides of the cake. It also makes for a great looking slice of cake! My son LOVED this cake and so did my husband! I will definitely be making this cake again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Tinmouth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I am strictly rating the Mousse as I used it with another chocolate cake recioe on here called "Black Magic". Mousee was awesome, my husband said it was the perfect Chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this cake twice so far - one with a box cake mix and one from scratch. The cake from scratch tasted a lot better! To cut down on the sweetness, I modified the mousse recipe. I only used about 3/4 can of condensed milk, decreased the water to 1/4 cup, and increased the heavy cream to 2 cups instead of one. I put the mixing bowl and beater in the freezer before I whipped the heavy cream and I mixed in the pudding with a wire whisk. The cake did slide a little when I was frosting it, but I was too impatient to wait for the layers to set in the fridge before I frosted the outside of the cake. I brought the cake to work and got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I've made this a few times now. It's fabulous! I always get lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This mousse was fabulous. I didn't use a box mix, rather I used the recipe "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III". The results were wonderful. I did find the mousse a little difficult to spread, and in the future I may tweak this a little to modify the consistency. The taste though is really fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Goodness in a couple of boxes... Yummy! My frosting came out more like thick pudding instead of whipped, but it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My boyfriend requested this for his birthday! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe called for> turned out AMAZING!!!! this on is definately a permanent resident in my cookbook! Ok so am going to make an addition to my review! I wanted something different for MY birthday, so I substituted french vanilla cake, white chocolate and white chocoloate pudding and garnished with raspberries! WOW YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States