Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Takes time to make but it is worth it!!!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made this as a filly in a pound cake, and the left over where awesome with fresh fruit. I made a chocolate one and a white chocolate one. Do the white chocolate I just subsituted the bakers chocolate for white bakers chocolate and chocolate pudding for vanilla. I liked the white version better then the chocolate, but bother were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made this for DD's 14th bday party, and we feasted on the leftovers for a couple of days. Delicious! I used the cake mix with the pudding inside to make it more dense, and the guests enjoyed watching me whip the cream (and tasting the results!). Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The mousse tasted great. I used 50 cal. Dr. Oetker mousse dessert and it turned out nice and light. However I reluctantly bought boxed choc. cake and it was too fluffy and wouldn't come out of my nonstick pans, I should have buttered and floured the pans I guess. So I remade chocolate cake from scratch and the texture and weight was much better. If you can, make the cake 2 days ahead so the flavor of the cocoa has time to absorb. The last piece I had definitly tasted the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excellent! I made as written and it's a keeper! Very rich and delicious, the b/f is gonna really love this for his Valentines treat ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
For this recipe I chose to make a butter cake instead, not because chocolate didn't sound yummy but because the person I was making it for preferred a white cake. The mouse was incredibly easy to make and so much more delicious than I could have imagined. Make sure to let sit at least the hour after folding in the whipped cream in. I chilled mine for aproxmiatly two. I tasted it before and after and the time just made it even more rich and tasty. I would absolutely recommend this and I will deffinetly be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Do yourself a favor and save this recipe! I've been looking for something that would compare to a cake we enjoy from the Cheesecake Factory and this is it. I was skeptical about starting with a boxed cake mix but this turned out so good. I even forgot the final step of folding in the whipped cream and it was wonderful. I used two 9" round cake pans and used a chocolate cake mix. Even after forgetting to add the whipped cream at the end, I had enough mouse to frost the layers of a 4 layer cake but ended up having to use a tub of icing. If you can find them, insert a couple of long cocktail toothpicks to keep the layers steady. I added chopped chocolate chips to the sides for a finishing touch and received many compliments. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandiebb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
The flavor is good but I think it could have set better. I also realized that there's "instant pudding mix" and "cook and serve" (here in Beijing, I only found the latter and didn't realize there was a difference). Needless to say, after realizing this 6 hours after setting the chocolate part in the fridge to "set" (pre-whipped cream), I ended up having to cook it. If others made this mistake too, it probably wouldn't set very elegantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
We didn't think this cake was anything special until the next day! I kept it in the frig and everytime we got it out it was better than before! This is so delicious, my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
HELP? First, I couldn't find a 3.9 oz box of instant pudding. So I used one large box and one small box. The mousse didn't come out at all like it should've have, it was almost like glue. I really want to make this again, but don't know what to do about the right amount of pudding, could that have been the problem??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States