Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
AWESOME!!!! If I could give this recipe more stars I would. It was delicious and so easy and my guest were raving. I shared this with lots of people and the only two things I did differently was add 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar and used non-fat condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Awesome recipe! I followed this exactly and it's the best cake I've ever made. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Made for my mother's birthday. Very light and fluffy frosting. Liked it almost better by itself. Kind of like a very rich pudding. Think I will stick to the traditional buttercream but this was a nice change. Will think of some other uses for it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
So delicious! My husband who hates cake devoured this one. I did cut back on the water and only put in about 1/4 cup. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I love this cake so much that I made it three weeks in a row! I used butter cake instead of chocolate for one version, just as good. My only recommendation is the same as the other reviewers, use REALLY cold cream to whip. Try putting a metal bowl in the freezer for about 10 minutes before adding and whipping cream. Also, don't whip or stir in the cream to the chocolate mix, fold gently. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Made for dessert last night. The big hit of this cake is the mousse frosting. Can't be good on the hips but the taste was wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I THINK THIS IS WONDERFUL. YOU CAN DRESS IT UP W/ CHOCOLATE SHAVINGS ON FROSTING. VERY FANCY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I made this for a friend for her birthday and she liked the mousse icing more than the cake. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This recipe was really good. When I put the cake in to bake I put the metal bowl and beaters in the freezer. Also! for those that had problems getting their whipping cream to whip, oil of any kind is diaster for cream, so before you put it in the freezer, add about a capful of vineger and a teaspoon of salt to the metal bowl and use a paper towel to wipe it all around the bowl, rinse it well, then put it in the freezer. The cream of tartar is a must also, great stabilizer! I had to stir a loooong time to get the powdered chocolate pudding and pie mix to mix well enough so that there wasn't any grit left. I also put the cake in the fridge after it had baked and cooled, during all those "chill for 30 minutes/chill for an hour" steps and it really helped when you went to frost it. Over all, it was a pretty easy cake to make, all the steps just make it seem difficult. Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Everyone adored this mousse topping!! It really reminded me of those refridgerated McCain cake's frosting, so if you like that, you will adore this - it's even fluffier. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States