Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wouldn't change a thing about it! I used a milk chocolate box cake. The mousse frosting was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Good cake, but the mousse was very heavy for the cake itself and made my cake split right down the middle of it from the weight of the mousse. It ended up spliting in three sections. My advice is to not reduce the water, but keep it as is in the recipe as mine came out too heavy and thick. I made this for a co-worker's birthday cake and felt bad that I had to bring a split up broken down cake. Everybody said it was delicious anyways. I'd make it again, but use a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCHYNA1295

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I'm editing this review since I first made it many years ago. I made it again today and I wasn't as impressed as I was the first time. My culinary skills have evolved and my tastes have matured since I made it so I have a different perspective. Now I'd say this cake passes for decent. Stack it against the Barefoot Contessa's chocolate cake recipe and this is downright pedestrian. I put the frosting mixtures into the freezer to hasten the chilling and that worked beautifully. It helped keep things stiff even with 1/2 cup water as the recipe calls for. Several people reviewing this recipe have said the butter cake mix from Duncin is the best. I disagree. I used a butter fudge cake and was disappointed. It was very dry. Oil etc makes a cake moist and this had none. Anyway -- it's a decent cake but don't try it on your foodie friends -- it won't impress them. It will make your non-foodie friends and average joes very happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I was not fond of this cake - I made it according to the directions, and the frosting tasted, well. . . like pudding. It was disappointing for me - not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Eh. This was ok. Not terrible, but I wasn't thrilled that this was what I brought with me to a dinner. The mousse ended up being thicker than I thought it should be, if I made it again I would add a bit more water. If you beat the cream until stiff peaks form, there is no need to cut down on the water. I didn't love the flavor of the mousse I got so I'm not sure I will attempt this again. I do have to say that it was better the second day having been in the fridge for more than 24 hours. I ate a piece with some mint ice cream, and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Cut down to half of the water, and added 1/4 teaspoon of Cream of Tartar to the whipping cream, like others suggested. I used a box cake and it was DELICIOUS! OMG this is my new favorite. It was devoured by everyone...Not a crumb left. Like the saying goes...Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Just made this cake..The mousse was pretty good,but like others have said, a cake from a box isn't very good.Will use the mousse for something else,was looking for a restaurant quality cake, will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Rich and delicious! I made this for a birthday party along with the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III recipe (as suggested by Carrie) and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
The mousse never set. I tried it three times! The directions need a little more details!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Wow I have made this 5 times and each time I receive compliments galore. easy to make, delicious and nutricious what else can I say? I added some coconut flakes to the cake and some unmelted pieces of chocolate and made it all devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States