Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I thought this was a really good cake - frosting really, since the cake is just a mix. My husband thought it was very rich, and he was right, so you can't eat too much in one sitting. However, the frosting was very easy to make. I didn't have unsweetened baking squares, so I used baking cocoa instead. The conversion is one 1oz square = 3 Tablespoons of baking cocoa + 1 Tablespoon oil. It turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meemz05
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe!! I made it because a friend specifically asked for chocolate mousse cake and i didnt imagine it would be this good! I used leftover semi- sweet chocolate chips for the chocolate and I made sure to keep beating the cream until it was stiff. I also mixed the condensed milk, pudding mix and chocolate well before i added the water so make sure to get it as smooth as possible. Otherwise i followed the recipe exactelly as written.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meemz05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This cake is awesome! I get rave reviews every time I make it. I bake the cake at 325 for 25 minutes and it comes out super moist. The frosting is so light, yet so rich. This cake is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I should have used a better cake mix. I thought the mousse part was great. It wasn't too heavy where it broke the cake like mentioned in previous reviews. This is VERY rich and it takes a lot for me to say that because I have the biggest sweet tooth of all! I will surely make the mousse part again, but maybe put it on an angel food cake or something, but next time the cake will be made from scratch. I followed the recipe as it is written. Just be sure to grease your cake pans up so the cake doesn't stick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My whole family loved the Mousse Icing by itself very mcuh. Would give it a 5 star. Didn't like the chocolate cake with it very much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Really easy to make! The mousse takes a bit to make but it sure is heavenly! If you're uncomfortable making cake from scratch, but feel like baking gourmet, try this! It's a must-make and must-EAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wouldn't change a thing about it! I used a milk chocolate box cake. The mousse frosting was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Good cake, but the mousse was very heavy for the cake itself and made my cake split right down the middle of it from the weight of the mousse. It ended up spliting in three sections. My advice is to not reduce the water, but keep it as is in the recipe as mine came out too heavy and thick. I made this for a co-worker's birthday cake and felt bad that I had to bring a split up broken down cake. Everybody said it was delicious anyways. I'd make it again, but use a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCHYNA1295

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I'm editing this review since I first made it many years ago. I made it again today and I wasn't as impressed as I was the first time. My culinary skills have evolved and my tastes have matured since I made it so I have a different perspective. Now I'd say this cake passes for decent. Stack it against the Barefoot Contessa's chocolate cake recipe and this is downright pedestrian. I put the frosting mixtures into the freezer to hasten the chilling and that worked beautifully. It helped keep things stiff even with 1/2 cup water as the recipe calls for. Several people reviewing this recipe have said the butter cake mix from Duncin is the best. I disagree. I used a butter fudge cake and was disappointed. It was very dry. Oil etc makes a cake moist and this had none. Anyway -- it's a decent cake but don't try it on your foodie friends -- it won't impress them. It will make your non-foodie friends and average joes very happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I was not fond of this cake - I made it according to the directions, and the frosting tasted, well. . . like pudding. It was disappointing for me - not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States