Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
OMG! Great Mousse! I made this for my husband for father's day since he is such a Chocolate Mousse Cake fanatic. Although, I took the advice about the cream of tarter & the 1/4 cup of water instead of the 1/2 cup, the top layer did slip off the bottom layer. But I improvised!! I put the cake in the freezer for about an hour and it kept its composure! In fact, it tastes much better cold. Thank you for helping me make my husband's father's day sweeter than ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
this was really good however the filling kept making the top layer slide...next time I think I am going to poke holes through the cake and pour the icing in it so saturates the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasbaker25
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly for the mousse. I baked the cake from scratch. The mousse was perfect! It's not too sweet like the chocolate buttercream and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I thought this was a really good cake - frosting really, since the cake is just a mix. My husband thought it was very rich, and he was right, so you can't eat too much in one sitting. However, the frosting was very easy to make. I didn't have unsweetened baking squares, so I used baking cocoa instead. The conversion is one 1oz square = 3 Tablespoons of baking cocoa + 1 Tablespoon oil. It turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meemz05
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe!! I made it because a friend specifically asked for chocolate mousse cake and i didnt imagine it would be this good! I used leftover semi- sweet chocolate chips for the chocolate and I made sure to keep beating the cream until it was stiff. I also mixed the condensed milk, pudding mix and chocolate well before i added the water so make sure to get it as smooth as possible. Otherwise i followed the recipe exactelly as written.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meemz05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This cake is awesome! I get rave reviews every time I make it. I bake the cake at 325 for 25 minutes and it comes out super moist. The frosting is so light, yet so rich. This cake is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I should have used a better cake mix. I thought the mousse part was great. It wasn't too heavy where it broke the cake like mentioned in previous reviews. This is VERY rich and it takes a lot for me to say that because I have the biggest sweet tooth of all! I will surely make the mousse part again, but maybe put it on an angel food cake or something, but next time the cake will be made from scratch. I followed the recipe as it is written. Just be sure to grease your cake pans up so the cake doesn't stick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My whole family loved the Mousse Icing by itself very mcuh. Would give it a 5 star. Didn't like the chocolate cake with it very much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Really easy to make! The mousse takes a bit to make but it sure is heavenly! If you're uncomfortable making cake from scratch, but feel like baking gourmet, try this! It's a must-make and must-EAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wouldn't change a thing about it! I used a milk chocolate box cake. The mousse frosting was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States