Chocolate Mousse Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I've made this recipe twice now, the first time i made is exactally as the recipe states but found the bottom cake layer to be bland and too dense for my liking. The mousse part on the other hand was to die for. So, the second time I attempted to use brownie mix for the bottom layer and everything else remained the same. OMGOSH.. it was like eating a slice of heaven... i got soooo many compliments on it. I'm making it again today to bring to a dinner party with a few friends... I can't wait till dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This cake is really elegant however DO NOT try to make it without a springform pan. I tried to just mold the moose onto the cake after the moose set and let's just say it wasn't pretty. The ganache was not smooth and it squished everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
absoulutaly delicious!! too die for ( the calories were worth it ) i loved this cake but had too restrict myself from haveing too much at a time- i had to live off brussel sprouts for a week afterwards ;) well worth the effort - ideal for all the chocolate lovers out there!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe was a big let down. The bottom cake was tasteless, and didn't mesh with the texture of the mousse. I think it really needed a crust with more crunch. The mousse itself was incredibly rich, but it didn't offer much else. Just a poor combination of flavors and textures in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This cake may be a little labor intensive, but it is well worth the effort. Not only is it a beautiful cake, but the taste is to die for. It really does need to set for 1-2 days in the fridge so that it is firm enough. I made this for Thanksgiving and my family fell in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this was an exlellent cake, did not care for how hard the bottom was , will use a different cake or brownie mix when i make later today..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
OH MY GOODNESS! This was DELICIOUS!!! I used this recipe for a formal dinner party and my guests were absolutely raving. I was even asked if I catered professionally. It did take a lot of time and chocolate but was definitely worth it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I tried this recipe twice, the first time the mousse was too runny .the second time I reduced the water to 1/3 cup and it was perfect. I got rave reviews from everyone who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
The best chocolate cake my family and our friends have ever had! It looks like ready made when finished. However, it takes time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This recipe is fantastic, and VERY rich. I had many compliments when I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States