Chocolate Mousse Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
FAB!!! Definitely must let sit for 2days in order to set up correctly!!! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful...just like a terrific choc mousse cake from a fancy restaurant!!! As a short side note, when I first removed the base layer cake from the oven, I thought....oooooohhh not good. But in the end, it is 'just right' after the mousse sits on it for a couple of days. Happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I've made this recipe twice now, the first time i made is exactally as the recipe states but found the bottom cake layer to be bland and too dense for my liking. The mousse part on the other hand was to die for. So, the second time I attempted to use brownie mix for the bottom layer and everything else remained the same. OMGOSH.. it was like eating a slice of heaven... i got soooo many compliments on it. I'm making it again today to bring to a dinner party with a few friends... I can't wait till dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I made this cake for Valentine's Day and I am going to make it again for Thanksgiving. It takes a lot of baking skill to get this to come out just right and if you don't have patience for baking this is not the recipe for you. Otherwise this is a great cake that has great texture and isn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly and was most unhappy with the results. The cake part was rubbery and flat. The mousse part wasn't set enough after a full day. Although the mousse tasted good, I would expect it to not only taste good but be firm enough to cut and serve as required of a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
didn't like the texture of the mousse or the bottom cake, followed instructions exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This mousse is quite wonderful. Not too chocolaty and not too creamy. I was rather disappointed with the cake however. It was flat, and tasted - um - flat. I wouldn't make the cake again, but I'll be mixing up the mousse. PS There sure is ALOT of egg needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This cake is so delicious! Even though it is time consuming to make, it is not difficult and it's worth the effort. I made it three times and the only negative feedback I got was that the bottom crust was a little tough but the mousse is perfect! I don't know if it would hold up with a chocolate cookie or graham cracker crust because it weighs so much but that might be softer alternatives. It does require the full time of setting but then you can brag that the cake took you three days to make. Also, make sure to put it back in the fridge after cutting. It begins to sag if left out too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Takes time to make but well worth it put Rasberry sauce on top for an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I tried this recipe twice, the first time the mousse was too runny .the second time I reduced the water to 1/3 cup and it was perfect. I got rave reviews from everyone who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This recipe was very good, however, it calls for 1 cup hot, brewed coffee. Since I cannot have that, I was wondering what I could use in its place and still reseve the awesome flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States