Chocolate Mousse Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully! Everyone loved it, just as other reviewers said they would. It wasn't difficult to make at all, and ever so impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
OK, first my changes: I did not use the cake recipe provided, as I saw some comments about it being dry etc. Instead I used my traditional go-to chocolate cake recipe (can be found on this website as Vegan Chocolate Cake) and halved it. The result was a little thick, but soooo moist. I also substituted margarine for the butter, which I was nervous about, and I only had around 1 cup of whipping cream. And I used the chocolate chips that I had lying around, nothing high quality. And the results... delicious! I made it for a dinner party that we were having and my guests were completely blown away. They did not believe that it was home made. It probably would have been better with a higher qualty chocolate, but the combination of cake and mousse was really divine. I didn't have the time to make the ganache, so I just shaved some white chocolate onto the center. It was great!!! Also, I did not have time to leave it in the fridge for 2 whole days, it was n probably for like 18 hrs, and it definitely would have been better having set for the full time, it lacked the firmness that restaurant cakes have. But none of my guests seemed to mind the creaminess, it got rave reviews!!! Will be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
it's the first mousse cake i made and it came out perfect. i made it for my mum's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xxxbekkielisticxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This recipe wasn't hard to make - just time consuming. The "cake" portion isn't all that great, but the mousse is AWESOME! It's a very heavy cake and a little goes a long way. Just make sure you have the time to let the cake "set up". I failed to see this part of the recipe and while I gave it 24 hrs - it probably would have been better with 48h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
It's a very good recipe. I love it, and I will make this recipe my family recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DESSERTQUEEN55
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
It is really rich, so don't over estimate what you can eat, but it is sooo amazingly good! Some people who tried it with me thought a basic brownie on the bottom would be tastier than the crust here because this crust recipe is a tad oily tasting. I will try something different on the bottom, but the mousse is amazing! I also froze it for a couple weeks with no problems. The crust was just a bit hard to cut until it thawed, but the mousse was perfect frozen or thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I was making this for a friends birthday and didn't have ENOUGH TIME to have this set as directed. SOOO... I beat the eggs extra extra dry. (very very stiff peaks)and then followed the recipe otherwise as directed but only let it set for 8 hours. It set fine and was fabulous...I do strongly recomend letting it sit overnight if possible, it does make it that much better. We had dinner at a very upscale european restaurant and brought this in for the dessert (we knew the owners) All at our table, as well as the servers and chef where very impressed. When they served it to us they had it in promenant area of the restaurant and they said they had other table request it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
The mousse part is delicious, but the cake part is rather bland. I would recommend making the base out of a brownie or cake mix (you will probably only need to use half of the box), and making the mousse as directed. Also, I didn't like the idea of using raw eggs in the mousse so I melted the butter with the egg yolks over the stove until it came to its safe temp (160 degrees), and then continued to make it as directed. I also used pasteurized egg whites. This worked out well, just make sure you don't scramble the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
FAB!!! Definitely must let sit for 2days in order to set up correctly!!! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful...just like a terrific choc mousse cake from a fancy restaurant!!! As a short side note, when I first removed the base layer cake from the oven, I thought....oooooohhh not good. But in the end, it is 'just right' after the mousse sits on it for a couple of days. Happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I've made this recipe twice now, the first time i made is exactally as the recipe states but found the bottom cake layer to be bland and too dense for my liking. The mousse part on the other hand was to die for. So, the second time I attempted to use brownie mix for the bottom layer and everything else remained the same. OMGOSH.. it was like eating a slice of heaven... i got soooo many compliments on it. I'm making it again today to bring to a dinner party with a few friends... I can't wait till dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States