Chocolate Mousse Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this exactly as written. I took it to a family Christmas party and it was raved about by everyone. Many people in the comments stated that the cake fell after cooking. Mine fell slightly but not much. Very rich cake, with some homemade whipped cream this really does serve about 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
With a pound of chocolate as part of the recipe, how can it not be GREAT?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyAMo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
I think this recipe is absolutely delicious! My sister and brother and I all love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
EXCELLENT dessert! Your guests will think you're a gourmet! Easy to prepare and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I misread this recipe and only used 3 eggs! Due to this mistake, I have no idea what the texture is supposed to be like...mine came out like a cross between a mousse and ganache. Accordingly, it was somewhat difficult to slice and serve. I will use more eggs the next time I make it...but since another reviewer called it "eggy," I probably won't use all 8. Despite my mistake, the end result was rich, decadent and had a heavenly flavor. The balance of chocolate to coffee was very nice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Loved this! I liked the crusty edges right out of the oven (but left them in the interest of serving to my family without looking like the birds had been after it). After 2 days in the frig, this was like eating fudge. Unfortunately, mine was a little grainy, but that was my fault. Maybe not a bad idea to pour the batter through a sieve on the way to the pan in case the eggs have not been tempered correctly. As for flavor, none of us noticed any egginess or strong coffee flavor, just rich chocolate. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yummy. This was really good. Kind of a cross between a brownie and the inside of a truffle. Rich chocolaty goodness. I did use coffee instead of water, it didn't give it a coffee flavor just enhanced the chocolate. Just a little tip before you just dump the eggs into the hot chocolate mix take a little of the chocolate and beat it into the eggs to bring up the temp of the eggs so they don't scramble on you. I used a gravy ladle to add about 1/2 cup of the chocolate into the eggs. I topped with whipped cream and a berry sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was a great recipe that was easy to put together. The flavor is great and while it is very rich the texture is light enough that it really does seem like a mousse cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States