Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Made this cake for my husbands birthday, it was a big hit! It was super moist and has a wonderful flavor. I'll be making this again and again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Holy Toledo! This cake is fantastic! I used what I had or didn't have on hand. I didn't have any pudding mix so I just cut the eggs back to 3. I had both Coffee Liqueur and Creme de Cocoa so I put the creme de cocoa in the cake and used the coffee liqueur for the sauce. Also, with the sauce I think I just used all liqueur and no water (it's been that kind of week), and I was running very low on margarine/butter so I used Cream of Coconut I had on hand. FABULOUS CAKE!! I was worried my cake would stick to my obstinate bundt pan so I dusted the pan with sugar. The result of everything, including the sugar dusting, was a wonderfully sauced cake, a lightly crunchy coating, drool worthy sauce (what didn't soak into the cake making it super moist), a great texture, and a cake that holds itself together. It was a little rich, but then again my makeshift ingredients were sweeter than called for. At any rate, this is a new staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Ever since making this for friends the first time, it's requested any time I ask if I can bring dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
5 Stars for EASY - 4 for taste. Second time I made, I didn't have all the right ingredients, so I modified a bit with crushed Chocolate Chip Teddy Grahams and peanuts for the crust, instant vanilla pudding instead of chocolate, and instant coffee diluted with water instead of liqueur - we liked it just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Wow! This was fantastic!! You definitely want to poke many holes in the cake after it bakes. I used about an eighth of a cup more of the coffee liqueur to pour over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
YUMMY!! Just made this for the 2nd time now. Its going to be a new fav in my house. I also poked holes in the cake this time before pouring sauce over it and used more liqueur than water in the sauce. MMM MMM MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
WOW,THIS CAKE IS SO MOIST AND DELISH.I ADDED 2TBPS MORE OF LIQUEUR TO THE SAUCE,ALSO FOR THE SAUCE I ADDED LIQUEUR AFTER I BOILED SUGAR MIX,POKED HOLES IN CAKE AND POURED SAUCE IN SLOWLY.THIS IS VERY GOOD WITH OR WITHOUT ICE CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Unbelievably good cake. Made this for a July 4th celebration and several people had two pieces at the party. The only thing I will change next time is I will save some of the sauce to pour over the top of the cake once I have removed it from the bundt pan. Even out the liqueur flavor throughout the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is a great "adult" cake to serve company. Oddly, it seems less sweet than most cakes. I have used any type of chocolate cake mix I happen to have on hand. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States