Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I prefer to make recipes that are highly reviewed, so I was a little hesitant. But I'm so glad I made this!! It is the best, moist cake I've ever eaten. It's a keeper for sure. I didn't think the alcohol was overpowering at all. It was a perfect blend of yummy goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This cake is great. But I think it was better the next day once the liquor had time to soak in. I ditched the vodka and used all Kahlua. Also - I didn't make the glaze, instead opted for some nutella and serving w/coffee ice cream. Definitely was a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
my alcohol loving friends liked it, however i used smirnoff (i have very little knowledge of alcohol) and thought that the smirnoff was way overpowering. the texture and chocolate flavor were excellent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This cake is awesome! It is now my go to chocolate cake. I took the advise of other reviewers and used a dark chocolate cake mix. Instead of plain water I used 3/4 cup of cold coffee. Everything else stayed the same. I will definately being making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is the best cake I have ever tasted and I don't typically eat cake. I love this cake and make it all the time. Very, very easy. You will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Pearson
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This cake is insanely good. Words can't describe how moist it was. I used dark chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding mix, mixed in 2 tbsp instant coffee in with the 3/4 cup water, used about 1/3 cup Kahlua, no vodka, used one small container of applesauce and just 1/2 cup veggie oil and I didn't use the glaze. Instead, I used chocolate ganache with a tbsp of Kahlua mixed in. My fiance and our friends loved this cake for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wonderful cake - I used one of the reviews and cut back the oil to 1/4 c, using 4 eggs. I also used dark chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding and cointreau instead of vodka. Magnificent. I will use this cake as a base and work with several other liquers as it gets rave reviews from company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Wonderful cake especially for coffee lovers. Made exactly as written - moist, good keeper and worthy of the 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This cake turned out delicious. I modified the mix using Organic Chocolate cake mix (thanks CCybermom) and then added a ring of dark chocolate chips in the middle of the cake. Once finished, melted some dark chocolate and spoon drizzled a coating over the glaze. This was for mom's birthday and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this exactly as written and it was very good. It was not overpoweringly 'alcoholic' which was good b/c we were serving some children. It was moist, flavorful, and just the right amount of 'mocha.' Best of all, EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States