Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
We get the BEST compliments with this cake! We've tried it w/ butterscotch pudding and buttershots, banana, chambord (our fave so far), kahlua, and for the holidays... peppermint schnapps. It always disappears! Just sprinkle w/ a little powered suger and it's done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Oh my! Absolute best cake. Can't wait to try some of the other combinations. Note: I've seen similar recipes that call for 1/2 cup oil and four eggs. Seems a little more reasonable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Extra easy to prepare and another crowd favorite - was perfect with coffee after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is the best liquor cake I have ever tasted! Instead of the vodka and coffee liquor, I used blackberry brandy. I topped the cake with fresh strawberries and raspberries instead of frosting - it is already plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
always a hit at parties! i use a little less butter for the sauce, and the cake is still very moist. i've also substituted kahlua for the coffee liqueur when i ran out. dust with powdered sugar and serve with berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Fantastic! My husband gobbled it up & licked his plate clean... he said it tastes like tiramisu. So far I've tried this recipe two different ways, both times I used Triple Chocolate Fudge cake mix but once I used vanilla pudding and the other time I used chocolate pudding - my husband like the chocolate pudding cake better. I used 4 eggs and 1/4 cup oil. I only made a half-recipe of glaze (it was delicious), spooned some of it over the sliced pieces of cake, and poured the rest over the uncut cake - it made a lot. Thanks for the great recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This cake was absolutely delicious. I used chambord instead of the coffee liqueur. It was truly amazing. I also used a chocolate frosting (chocolate frosting IV) on the top (it was a glaze) and it made this cake even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Very good and very easy! I've made it for several parties and it dissapears!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Fantastic! Very moist. We followed a previous reviewer's advice and left out the oil in the recipe entirely. It came out just fine. I'm curious to hear reviews from people who used different combinations of chocolate / vanilla cake mix and chocolate / vanilla pudding. For the icing, we used Smart Balance spread instead of butter. The icing turned out runny but really added to the taste. We also nixed the vodka and used that much more kahlua. Next time I'll try the same recipe with Irish Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States